PLEASE NOTE ALL COSAM & SOE RESEARCH GUIDES ARE BEING UPDATED AT THIS TIME. SOME LINKS AND INFORMATION MAY NOT BE ACCURATE. PLEASE EMAIL ME WITH ANY QUESTIONS. THANK YOU FOR YOUR PATIENCE.
The left side navigation of this webpage (i.e. guide) has a number of tabs that link to information about subject specific article databases, websites, e-books, etc. that can be accessed through the Library; links to international information resources; information that will allow you to review principles of research and how to find stuff (handouts, tutorials, videos, homework suggestions, specific database instruction); and the many ways to get help with research and assignments. Please be aware that many of these resources are only available to the Cal Poly community and require portal credentials for access.
Web of Science All Databases (1864-present) provides the most comprehensive results from numerous databases that primarily cover the sciences plus social sciences and humanities. A new interface was released Summer 2021. Reorientation to search navigation and new features are supported by pop-up guides and tips, and the WoS Help Page.
arXiv is a curated research-sharing platform hosting nearly two million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. arXiv offers researchers a broad range of services: article submission, compilation, production, retrieval, search and discovery, web distribution for human readers, and API access for machines, together with content curation and preservation. This source provides in-progress research, preliminary data, etc. that has NOT been peer-reviewed. This platform allows for other researchers to comment and ask questions about the research before it is ready for formal publication. Materials should not be regarded as conclusive, guide clinical practice/health related behavior, or be reported in news media as established information.
Inspec® is a comprehensive index to global literature in electronics, computer science, physics, electrical, control, production and mechanical engineering. Includes INSPEC Thesaurus, Classification Codes and other specialized search aids.
This comprehensive geoscience database covers topics in economic geology, environmental and engineering geology, geophysics, hydrology, paleontology, petrology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy. Indexed content includes journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. The geology of North America is covered from 1666 to the present, and global coverage dates back to 1933. Access also includes GeoRef In Process.
Coming soon! GEOBASE is a database of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature: Earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. The content crosses subject, language and cultural boundaries, providing a unique research tool to users. GEOBASE covers 3+ million abstract records of multidisciplinary content enabling comprehensive geological evaluation of any desired region. This includes geological structure and relation to natural resources as well as linking resource management, transport, and regional and urban planning.
IOPscience provides access to Institute of Physics journals covering biomedical engineering, condensed matter, graphene, materials, nanotechnology, quantum information and semiconductors in the fields of astronomy, astrophysics, biological physics, chemistry, engineering, environment, mathematics, physics and medical physics.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Search results may be from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. There is currently no way to only search for peer-reviewed materials. Get more specific resource results by using the Google Scholar Advanced search feature. And always access Google Scholar through the library database URL
to gain access to materials the library has subscribed to.