PLEASE NOTE ALL COSAM & SOE RESEARCH GUIDES ARE BEING UPDATED AT THIS TIME. SOME LINKS AND INFORMATION MAY NOT BE ACCURATE. PLEASE EMAIL ME WITH ANY QUESTIONS. THANK YOU FOR YOUR PATIENCE.
The left side navigation of this webpage (i.e. guide) has a number of tabs that link to information about subject specific article databases, websites, e-books, etc. that can be accessed through the Library; links to international information resources; information that will allow you to review principles of research and how to find stuff (handouts, tutorials, videos, homework suggestions, specific database instruction); and the many ways to get help with research and assignments. Please be aware that many of these resources are only available to the Cal Poly community and require portal credentials for access.
Web of Science (All Databases) provides a unified search across all Web of Science indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CAB Abstracts & Global Health, Food Science & Technology Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Zoological record. Web of Science (All Databases) also includes indexes of scholarly literature from Korea, Russia, Latin America, Portugal, Spain, and South Africa.
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Search results may be from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. There is currently no way to only search for peer-reviewed materials. Get more specific resource results by using the Google Scholar Advanced search feature. And always access Google Scholar through the library database URL to gain access to materials the library has subscribed to.
This source covers all aspects of biology. These tools provide in-progress research, preliminary data, etc. that has NOT been peer-reviewed. This platform allows for other researchers to comment and ask questions about the research before it is ready for formal publication. They should not be regarded as conclusive, guide clinical practice/health related behavior, or be reported in news media as established information.
SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive indexing and full-text access to sports and sports medicine journals. Subject areas covered include: biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health and therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports and exercise psychology, coaching and education, and sports medicine.
APA PsycInfo, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports, in psychology, behavioral science, mental health, and related fields. Special features include the ability to search by study group, methodology, or specific test.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to educational literature and resources. It contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
A comprehensive index of peer-reviewed scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies, as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Provides Full-text access to peer reviewed articles from thousands of journals.
Note: Search SPORTDiscus, CINHAL Plus, PsycInfo, ERIC, and Academic Search Premier, which all use the EBSCOhost search platform, in any combination at once. Go to one of the databases and click "choose databases" and mark the ones you are interested in. It will list the various limits you can impose for each database.
OregonPDF in Health & Performance is a collection of graduate dissertations and theses in areas related to health and performance. Dissertation subjects include biochemistry, biomechanics, dance, exercise physiology, history or philosophy of physical education, kinesiology, motor control, obesity, recreation, sports marketing, sports medicine, sports pedagogy, sports psychology, and tests and measurements. If a requested document is not yet available in PDF, OregonPDF will convert it to PDF and email it within 24 hours.