Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Artists' Books in Special Collections and Archives

Learn more about the artists' books in Special Collections and Archives

Print books in Special Collections and Archives about Artists Books

About Artists Books:

The Journal of Artists' Books

Klima, Stefan. Artists Books: A Critical Survey of the Literature. (1998) N7433.3 .K59 1998

Drucker, Johanna. The Century of Artists' Books. (1995) N7433.3 .D78 1995

More books about artists' books in the library catalog

Teaching with Artists Books:

Smedberg, Heather. "Exploring Artists' Books." Chapter in Using Primary Sources: Hands-On Instructional Exercises. eds. Anne Bahde, Heather Smedberg, and Mattie Taormina. 2014. Pages 139-143

Copans, Ruth and John Anzalone. "Artists' Books: Esthetics, Media, Communication." Chapter in Past or Portal? Enhancing Undergraduate Learning through Special Collections and Archives. Eds. Eleanor Mitchell, Peggy Seiden, and Suzy Taraba. Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries, 2012, pages 48-52.

Resources on Book Arts in Colleges and Universities

College Book Arts Association 

"The College Book Art Association is a non-profit organization fundamentally committed to the teaching of book arts at the college and university level, while supporting such education at all levels, concerned with both the practice and the analysis of the medium. It welcomes as members everyone involved in such teaching and all others who have similar goals and interests. The association aims to engage in a continuing reappraisal of the nature and meaning of the teaching of book arts."

Local opportunities

Cuesta College sometimes offers Book Arts courses

Institutions Offering Graduate Studies in Book Arts

Columbia College Chicago - Center for Book and Paper Arts in Chicago, IL

University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa, AL

University of the Arts in Philadelphia, PA

University of Iowa Center for the Book in Iowa City, IA

Visual Studies Workshop in Rosendale, NY

Mills College in Oakland, CA

Race, Identity and Artists Books

Learn more about race and identity in the book arts. 

Online exhibit "Of Color: Race & Identity in Artists' Books" curated by students at Scripps College (2017). See also their exhibits Social Justice and Social Practice in Book arts (2019) and Book Arts and Social Justice (2018).

"We, Too, Are Book Artists" an exhibit at the Minnesota Center for Book Arts (2007) "showcases the work of African American artists using the book format and related book arts to communicate humanistic responsibility, social justice, cultural consciousness, and spirituality." 

Yale guide on African American artists who have worked in the book format

The Book/Print Artist/Scholar of Color collective brings Book History, Print Culture scholars into conversation with BIPOC book artists, papermakers.

The Anti-Racist Print & Printmaking Resources is a list of print and printmaking resources for fighting racism and supporting justice and equality. 

Online Resources

Artists' Book Reviews monthly reviews and occasional interviews, ABR promotes artists’ book appreciation and helps artists find readers who love their work.

Vamp and Tramp, Booksellers have online catalogs of artists. They are also a primary resource connecting our archives to book artists.