Foundational Learning and Engagement Librarian
Before you browse:
If you are logged into My Cal Poly Portal, you should automatically be able to access library-licensed material from your device.
A reliable way to troubleshoot access issues is to connect to Cal Poly's Virtual Private Network (VPN), available through GlobalProtect. Installation instructions are on the campus ITS website.
OneSearch Catalog
The OneSearch Catalog provides access to most of the resources available through our subscription databases. Watch the videos and browse the resources below to learn how to effectively use OneSearch to locate the best information for your project.
- What's in a OneSearch Record? Learn the anatomy of a OneSearch Record and how to use it to your advantage to research smarter, not harder.
- Access Full Text Articles in OneSearch Learn how to access full text articles in Kennedy Library's OneSearch catalog.
- Find E-Books Using OneSearch Learn how to find e-books in Kennedy Library's OneSearch catalog.
- Video: The Four Flavors of Print Books Requests in OneSearch 3 minute video explaining requests for physical items in order of how fast you can get to the item.
- Advanced Search Options in the OneSearch Catalog Learn how to use boolean operators, phrases, wildcards, special characters, and more in the OneSeach Catalog to find the best information for your research.
- How to Find Newspapers and Journals Learn how to find newspapers and journals on the Kennedy Library website.
- Find Sources Using Citation Chasing Have you ever found a really great source on your research topic? Watch this video to learn how to use that initial source to find other relevant resources through a process called citation chasing. This will save you time and help you dive deep into your topic's "scholarly conversation".
Databases
What subject-specific and multi-disciplinary databases can I access through the library?
Kennedy Library provides access to over 200 databases. Browse the resources below to learn how to choose the best database(s) for your topic, and how to save time and find the best information by using search strategies and techniques.
- Choose the Right Database A database is like a library, but a digital one, that stores data and links to journals and articles. There are two types of databases that most libraries provide access to: general databases that collect full-text articles across a variety of disciplines, such as Academic Search Premier, and subject databases that collect articles within a specific discipline, such as PsycINFO. Learn how to find the right one for your research topic.
- How to Search Effectively in Databases This 4 min tutorial shows you how to search well in most databases (courtesy of UCLA Library). Tip: Each database and platform should have documentation available on how to make best use of these tools. Look for search tips/help buttons within the search interface, or on developer websites or user community forums/blogs.
- Databases List Browse the databases list by subject or type.
What about Google Scholar?
Google Scholar can be a great tool for finding scholarly literature. Browse the tutorials below to learn how to avoid paywalls by linking your Google account to library resources and how to find the most useful information on your topic.
- Learn How Google Search Works This page links to training resources on how Google searches work, and lists of Google search operators, from Daniel Russell, Google Senior Research Scientist, Search Quality & User Happiness.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more. Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
Additional Resources
In the tutorials below, you can learn about finding course textbooks on reserve at the library, finding information about Cal Poly, finding and using images, how to use research guides and what they're good for, how to search effectively in Google and Google Scholar, and how to locate data sets.
- Find Textbooks in Course Reserves Learn how to find physical or electronic copies of your textbook for short term rental using the Course Reserves tool on the Kennedy Library's website.
- Information About Cal Poly This guide contains online resources for research specific to Cal Poly.
- Why Use Research Guides? Learn why and how Kennedy Library's Research Guides can help you research more efficiently!
What if I find an article in OneSearch or a database but the full-text is not available?
Many of the databases you use to find articles are discovery tools only, meaning you will then need to use the records you've found to access the actual documents. The tutorials below present a variety of ways to access full-text articles.
- Fastest Way to Access an Article: Find by Citation This is the fastest way to access an article you want that may not be in Kennedy Library's collection. Enter the DOI or PMID to auto-fill the form.
- Learn How to Request Interlibrary Loans Learn how to request resources that are available from libraries outside of the CSU system by using a service called interlibrary loan.
- Interlibrary Loan Request Form Use this form to request to borrow items the library doesn't own/license. If you have a DOI for an article, entering it will fill out the rest of the form automatically. If you're able to find the item in Onesearch, you will find instructions for requesting a loan and will not have to provide as much information.
Browser Extensions for Open Access Articles
There is a growing variety of extensions you can add to your internet browser to search for legal access to free-to-read copies of articles with the click of a button. Here are some options:
- Open Access Button Search for a free full text copy of an article you find online with one click, using a browser extension.
- Unpaywall Browser extension to search for a free full text copy of an article you find online, using a large open database of free scholarly articles harvested from over 50,000 publishers and repositories.
Precision Searching Strategies
Precision searching will help you turn up more relevant resources related to your research question. Precision searching requires an effective search strategy that involves using a variety of search terms (keywords), filters (these vary by database), and search statements (use of boolean operators, for example). The following resources provide some suggestions for precision searching.
- Research Process Tips (Handout) A review of key strategies for getting started on your research assignment.
- Use Boolean Operators in Databases - AND, OR, NOT Learn how to use the Boolean Operators AND/OR/NOT to target and refine your search.
- Use Boolean Modifiers - "", *, () Learn how to format your search using the Boolean Modifiers quotes " ", asterisk *, and parenthesis ( ).
- More Search Strategy Tips (research guide) Learn about phrase searching, truncation, subject headings, and Boolean Operators.
- Choosing and Narrowing Your Research Topic This 3 minute video discusses how to: • Choose an appropriately scoped research topic • Overcome challenges in your search • Locate a variety of information sources, including "grey literature" Courtesy of McMaster University Library
