Sarah Lester is the College Librarian for the College of Engineering. She has made many subject and course specific CENG research guides that you may wish to consult, and you may also consult with her.

The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers mission is concerned with the planning, designing, building and operating of water resources and other civil works projects (navigation, flood control, environmental protection, disaster response, etc.); designing and managing the construction of military facilities for the Army and Air Force (military construction); and providing design and construction management support for other Defense and federal agencies (interagency and international services).

The Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) is the central research and development organization for the Department of Defense (DoD). It manages and directs selected basic and applied research and development projects for DoD, and pursues research and technology where risk and payoff are both very high and where success may provide dramatic advances for traditional military roles and missions and dual-use applications.

DTIC has served as a military database since 1945 for the States Department of Defense as the source of government funded research, projects, and engineering studies.

The National Earthquake Information Center (NEIC), a part of the Department of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey, has three main missions. First, the NEIC determines, as rapidly and as accurately as possible, the location and size of all destructive earthquakes that occur worldwide. The NEIC disseminates this information immediately to concerned national and international agencies, scientists, and the general public. Second, the NEIC collects and provides to scientists and to the public an extensive seismic database that serves as a solid foundation for scientific research, principally through the operation of modern digital national and global seismograph networks and through cooperative international agreements. The NEIC is the national data center and archive for earthquake information. Third, the NEIC pursues an active research program to improve its ability to locate earthquakes and to understand the earthquake mechanism. These efforts are all aimed at mitigating the risks of earthquakes to mankind; and they are made possible by the fine international cooperation that has long characterized the science of seismology.

The Energy Citations Database (1948 - present) was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to improve access to Departmental and predecessor agency scientific and technical information (STI). The Energy Citations Database (ECD) contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related STI from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).

Started in 1901, as a part of the Department of Commerce, NIST promotes the research measurement infrastructure in the United States. Conducting research in areas including biology, chemistry, energy, telecommunications, and more, NIST is a resource that researchers can utilize.

The National Technical Information Service is the Federal Government's central source for the sale of scientific, technical, engineering, and related business information produced by or for the U.S. Government and complementary material from international sources.

The National Transportation Safety Board is an independent Federal agency that investigates every civil aviation accident in the United States and significant accidents in the other modes of transportation, conducts special investigations and safety studies, and issues safety recommendations to prevent future accidents.

Unifying the Department of Energy's researches in engineering, science, and technology, SciTech Connect replaces the old DOE Bridge.

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission, formerly the Atomic Energy Commission is responsible for regulating various commercial, industrial, academic, and medical uses of nuclear energy.

For over 200 years, the basic role of the Patent and Trademark Office (PTO) has remained the same: to promote the progress of science and the useful arts by securing for limited times to inventors the exclusive right to their respective discoveries. Patent full-text and full-page image databases are accessible through this web site. Patent grants are full-text since 1976, with full-page images since 1790.