Research Help Desk and Reference Resources
Brett Bodemer, CLA Librarian and Coordinator of Reference
Brett Bodemer
Subjects: Anthropology, Art and Design, Art History, Asian Studies, Child Development, Communications, Country Information, English, Ethnic Studies, Feminism, Geography, Government Information, Graphic Communication, History, Interdisciplinary Studies, Journalism, Linguistics, Music, News, Performing Arts, Philosophy and Religious Studies, Political Science, Primary Sources, Psychology, Queer Studies, Science, Technology and Society, Social Sciences, Sociology and Social Work, Theater and Dance, Women's, Gender and Queer Studies, World Languages and Cultures
Research Help Desk Summer Hours
The Research Help Desk is virtual for summer quarter 2024. But you can always get help 24/7 using our live chat!
24/7 Live Chat Help
- 24/7 Live Chat HelpOur chat is NOT AI – it is staffed by real people – our library staff, our highly trained student peer assistants (LibRATs) and academic librarians in the US and the UK.
Where Can I Find Help for My Research?
When the Research Help Desk is re-established in Crandall (Bldg. 60) you can come in person during open hours.
Make a personal appointment to meet with your College Librarian or Specialist.
Looking for Data, Maps, or GIS? Help available here.
To learn what databases are best for a particular topic, Research Guides.
Don't Know What Database to Use? Try the Research Guides!
- Research GuidesThese provide live links and information for the best databases for a subject, topic, or course. Curated by our librarians and specialists.
- Why Use Research Guides?This short video explains how Research Guides can save you time by directing you to the best databases and resources for your subject, topic, or information need.
- Which Database?This brief video explains strategies for quickly determining which database is best for your needs.
How to Find an Article in a Particular Newspaper or Journal
- Video :How to Find a Particular Newspaper/JournalThis 5 minute video shows how to find articles from specific journals, such as NY Times, WAPO, via the library databases.
Search Many Databases at Once
- EBSCOhost (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost (All Databases) provides a single search across all EBSCO databases. Much of this content is different than what appears in OneSearch, but of high value and easy to use for all disciplines.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse the library link and/or be logged into My Cal Poly Portal when you use Google Scholar so you can link out to full text in our databases via the Get it At Cal Poly button. (Sometimes the Get it at Cal Poly Button is hidden UNDER a result so click the two little arrows >> )
- ProQuest (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowProQuest (All Databases) provides a single search across all ProQuest databases.
- OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
- Using OneSearchThis guide gives you lots of tips and tricks for using OneSearch effectively.
- Video: The Four Flavors of Print Books Requests in OneSearch3 minute video explaining requests for physical items in order of how fast you can get to the item.
- Open LibrarySome books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.
- Open Library - Many Books Available Online (Renovation Edition #1)3 minute video showing how to check Open Library for possible immediate online access to books you see listed in OneSearch.
OneSearch
- OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
- Using OneSearchThis guide gives you lots of tips and tricks for using OneSearch effectively.