Search Many Databases at Once
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more. Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
-
EBSCOhost (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost (All Databases) provides a single search across all EBSCO databases. Much of this content is different than what appears in OneSearch, but of high value and easy to use for all disciplines.
-
ProQuest (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowProQuest (All Databases) provides a single search across all ProQuest databases.
-
OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
-
Using OneSearchThis guide gives you lots of tips and tricks for using OneSearch effectively.
-
Open LibrarySome books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.
-
Open Library - Many Books Available Online (Renovation Edition #1)3 minute video showing how to check Open Library for possible immediate online access to books you see listed in OneSearch.
All Databases & Research Guides
-
Which Database?This brief video explains strategies for quickly determining which database is best for your needs.
-
Why Use Research Guides?This short video explains how Research Guides can save you time by directing you to the best databases and resources for your subject, topic, or information need.
-
OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
Very Short Introduction Ebooks from Oxford
-
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowBrief ebooks written by experts across the board - on physics, art, communism, beat poetry - almost anything!
If you know the article you want and want to find the full text
Google Scholar: Try the author's last name and a good chunk of the title in " " and then use the Find it At Cal Poly link, often found hidden beneath the "more" under the result. Be sure that you are logged into MyCalPoly Portal AND signed into OneSearch.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Off campus users: To avoid CAPTCHA errors during peak times, use VPN for access. Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
General Databases
-
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowGreat Oxford short introductions to subjects across the board - from physics to communism to beat poetry
Controversial Topics
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowProvides “pro-con” discussions on questions related to a larger topic.
-
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowProvides information on key current social issues and “hot topics.”
National and Global Newspapers
-
ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowProvides full text articles for 500 U.S. and international newspapers, including the New York Times and the Los Angeles Times.
-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times and the Los Angeles Times going back to the early days.
-
Westlaw This link opens in a new windowThis database includes major national newspapers, and articles from today's papers are often available here more quickly than in Global Newstream.
State and Local Newspapers
-
California Newspapers (Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowOver fifty California Newspapers. It includes the San Luis Obispo Tribune from 2001 to the present.
-
California Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new windowCDNC is a freely accessible repository of digitized California newspapers from 1846 to the present.
-
Cal Poly Student Newspaper Online ArchiveKennedy Library's Special Collections has digitized original printed campus newspaper issues under various titles from 1916 to 2011.
-
San Luis Obispo TribuneLook under San Luis Tribune to see the date options that fit your research needs.
Some Key Databases for Various Subjects
-
AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowFood, nutrition, agriculture, earth and environmental sciences.
ARCHITECTURE -
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect offers private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. This product is an upgrade to Hoover's Academic and includes access to First Research.
First Research users must start at Mergent Intellect and click through to First Research. Enter any email address at the "Access First Research" screen and click submit.
-
Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowEbook Central offers access to nearly 200.000 titles across academic and professional subject areas, including titles university presses and other scholarly publishers. Ebook Central combines formerly separate services Ebook Library (EBL), Ebrary, and MyiLibrary.
-
MathSciNet-
PHYSICS
