Figuring out call numbers
• LB -- Read the first line in alphabetical order: A, B, BF, C, L, LA, LB, M, ML...
• 2395 -- Read the second line as a whole number: 1, 45, 100, 101, 2000, 2430...
• .C65 -- The third line is a combination of a letter and numbers.
Read the letter alphabetically. Read the number as a decimal, e.g.: .C65 = .65
• 1991 -- The last line is the year the book was published.
Read in chronological order: 1985, 1991, 1992.
Note: You can Also Spare Yourself the Trouble of Finding the Book By Signing into OneSearch and requesting it for locker delivery. Note: Locker delivery requests take longer than the immediacy of getting it yourself.
How to use a call number to find a book on the right floor and shelf
A Call Number is the "address" of a book that is written on its edge.
The library has different "collections" that you can think of as the "neighborhood" in which your book lives.
Examples of such neighborhoods are "Main Collection" "New Books" and "Teacher's Resource Collection."
You need to identify the "neighborhood" first, and then use the call number.
The Main Collection is SO BIG that it covers three floors.. The first LETTERS of the call number will help you tell which level of Kennedy to go to.
Very Important: some call number ranges are housed in retrievable storage and must be requested via OneSearch for delivery to the pickup lockers. Look carefully at the OneSearch record to determine if the book is housed in Kennedy Library or needs to be requested via OneSearch.
ALL items listed as Oversized in Main Collection also need to be requested via OneSearch.
Below are lists of the starting call numbers of books housed in Kennedy on levels 3, 4, and 5.
Level 3 Kennedy Library
Starting letters of Call Numbers in Main Collection on Level 3:
|
B Philosophy |
E US History |
HN Social Reform |
|
BF Psychology |
F US, Canada, Latin American History |
HQ Family/Marriage |
|
BJ Ethics |
GR Folklore |
HS Societies |
|
BL Religion |
GT Manners & Customs |
HT Communities |
|
D History |
GV Recreation |
HV Social Issues, Criminology |
|
DA Great Britain History |
HD Industries/Labor |
NA 1.A1 to NA 2728.M37 Architecture (START) |
|
DS Asia History |
HF Commerce |
WB Teacher’s Resource Collection |
|
DT. Africa History |
HM Sociology |
|
Starting letters of Call Numbers for items in Main Collection NOT listed above for Level 3 need to be requested from OneSearch for delivery to the lockers from retrievable storage.
Other Collections on Level 3:
The New Books Shelf , Cal Poly Reads, and Latine Collection are located on level 3 near the rear elevators..
Current Periodicals are located on the top of NA (Architecture) shelves on level 3.
Teacher's Resource Collection is located on northeast corner of Level 3.
Level 4 - Main Collection Kennedy Library
Starting Call Numbers in Main Collection on Level 4:
|
NA 2728 to NA 9415 Architecture (END) |
PE English Language |
PQ French, Italiian, Spanish, Portuguese Literature |
|
P Linguistics |
PG Slavic, Baltic Language |
PR English Literature |
|
PA Greek & Latin |
PJ Asian Language |
PS 153 to PS 2954 American LIterature (START) |
|
PC Romanic Language |
PN Literature |
|
Starting letters of Call Numbers for items in Main Collection NOT listed above for Level 4 need to be requested from OneSearch for delivery to the lockers from retrievable storage.
Level 5 Main Collection, Kennedy Library
Starting letters of Call Numbers in Main Collection on Level 5:
|
PS 2954.U to PS 3626.G American Literature (END) |
|
|
|
QA Mathematics |
RC Internal Medicine |
TH Building Construction |
|
QB Astronomy |
RD Surgery |
TJ Mechanical Engineering & Machinery |
|
QC Physics |
RM Therapeutics |
TK Electrical Engineering |
|
QD Chemistry |
S Agriculture |
TL Motor Vehicles |
|
QH Biology |
SB Plant Culture |
TP Chemical Technology |
|
QK Botany |
SD Forestry |
TR Photography |
|
QL Zoology |
SF Animal Culture |
TS Manufacturers |
|
QP Human Anatomy |
T Technology |
TT Handicrafts |
|
R Medicine |
TA Civil Engineering |
TX Home Economics |
|
RA Public Aspects of Medicine |
TC Hydraulic Engineering |
Z Books, Writing, & Pathology |
|
RB Pathology |
TD Environmental Technology |
|
Starting letters of Call Numbers of items in Main Collection NOT listed above for Level 5 need to be requested from OneSearch for delivery to the lockers from retrievable storage.
