Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.

Cross-search platform for all Gale primary source digital archives available to Cal Poly. Search all of these databases at the same time: Archives Unbound; Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, 16th-20th Century; Archives of Sexuality and Gender; British Library Newspapers; China and the Modern World; Eighteenth Century Collections Online; Indigenous Peoples of North America; Nineteenth Century Collections Online; Political Extremism and Radicalism; Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970; Refugees, Relief and Resettlement: Forced Migration and World War II; Slavery and Anti-Slavery: a Transnational Archive; and Women's Studies Archive.

Gale Eighteenth Century Collections Online contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a modular collection of primary source materials from the Nineteenth Century. The library has access to the following collections: Asia and the West; Europe and Africa, Colonialism and Culture; and Women and Transnational Networks.

Eighteenth Century Journals is a digitized collection of rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835. It provides a primary source of information about colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. This primary source collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.

HeinOnline is a government document and legal research database. It contains U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.

UK Parliamentary Papers is a primary source database containing the full-text digitized content of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from the 18th and 19th centuries, as well as a selection of related parliamentary documents from the 18th century. The full text from Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament from both the House of Commons and House of Lords, from 1803 to 2005, is also included.

A primary source digital collection of British local and regional newspapers published during the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries. A crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, this collection provides researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history. With more than 160 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 5.5 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements.

A primary source archive for researching the internal politics of China and Britain, their relationship, and the relationships between other Western powers seeking to benefit from the growing trading ports of the Far East.

Primary sources from the archives of the British Colonial Office from 1624-1849, covering topics related to settlement and colonial rivalries in the region, the economics of the plantation system, the rise and decline of the slave trade, the rise of the abolition movement, and the fight to end slavery.

Primary sources related to the history of European colonization and exploitation across the African continent, including printed works, diaries and journals, correspondence, maps, photographs, and film footage.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is a primary source collection supporting the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. The archive includes four parts: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; The Institution of Slavery; and Age of Emancipation.

African Diaspora, 1860-present includes digitized primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France.

Political Extremism and Radicalism provides insight on groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through primary sources. The library has access to the following collections: Far-Right and Left Political Groups in the U.S., Europe, and Australia in the Twentieth Century and Far-Right Groups in America.

This primary source archive drawn from the manuscript collections of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York offers insights into the everyday lives of the American Jewish population over three centuries.

Disability in the Modern World includes primary sources, supporting materials, archives, and video content, supporting teaching and research in the disciplines of disability history and disability studies, as well as history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas.

Primary source materials related to the history of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950.

Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background and coverage of major issues and themes for key worldwide border areas including the U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.

Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is a scholarly collection for researchers and students of adult comic books and graphic novels. This multi-part resource covers the full spectrum of this visual art form, from pre-comics code era works to modern sequential releases from artists the world over.

A primary source digital archive hosting a variety of collections. The Kennedy Library has access to the following collections: Asian American Studies, focusing on the experience of Japanese Americans during WWII; African American Studies, focusing on 20th century activism, civil rights, and race relations; Radical Studies, focusing on 20th century political movements on the far right and far left; and National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985, focusing on programs and services provided to migrant workers during these years.

Black Thought and Culture is a collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.

Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles from the Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010). The Los Angeles Sentinel is one of the oldest, largest and most influential African-American newspapers in the Western United States.

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.

Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Fisk University Race Relations Department and its annual institute from 1943-1970.

This primary source collection details the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings of the activists themselves.

HeinOnline’s Civil Rights and Social Justice database offers a diverse array of publications covering civil rights in the United States, including hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights,

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice is a digitized collection of primary source documents from 1490 to 2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. In addition to the primary source documents there is a wealth of useful secondary sources including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography.

Brings together legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, and includes historical pamphlets and books as well as modern histories of slavery.

African Diaspora, 1860-present includes digitized primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France.

Primary sources related to the history of European colonization and exploitation across the African continent, including printed works, diaries and journals, correspondence, maps, photographs, and film footage.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is a primary source collection supporting the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. The archive includes four parts: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; The Institution of Slavery; and Age of Emancipation.

Primary source digital collection for researchers studying the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge.

From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.

North American Indian Drama contains 244 plays by 48 playwrights of the twentieth century. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, representing groups such as Cherokee, Mtis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. Together, the plays demonstrate Native theater’s diversity of tribal traditions and approaches to drama.

Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files to create a primary source representation of historical events.

This primary source collection contains the complete records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs’ superintendents from 1813 to 1880. These documents cover not only encounters between indigenous people and the U.S. government, but also accounts of Native American cultures during a time when forced relocation and conflict were transforming their lives.

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. This primary source collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.

A primary source digital archive hosting a variety of collections. The Kennedy Library has access to the following collections: Asian American Studies, focusing on the experience of Japanese Americans during WWII; African American Studies, focusing on 20th century activism, civil rights, and race relations; Radical Studies, focusing on 20th century political movements on the far right and far left; and National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985, focusing on programs and services provided to migrant workers during these years.

Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late 19th century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga.

A primary source digital archive hosting a variety of collections. The Kennedy Library has access to the following collections: Asian American Studies, focusing on the experience of Japanese Americans during WWII; African American Studies, focusing on 20th century activism, civil rights, and race relations; Radical Studies, focusing on 20th century political movements on the far right and far left; and National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985, focusing on programs and services provided to migrant workers during these years.

Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946, Field Basic Documentation is a primary source database for scholars interested in better understanding the World War II incarceration of Japanese American citizens and residents. The War Relocation Authority (WRA) was a government agency tasked with the day-to-day running of the 10 incarceration camps from 1942-1946.

This primary source collection offers a window into centuries of Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life, as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of Hispanic descent. The content is sourced from American and global news sources, including Spanish-language or bilingual publications, from the early 18th century to the present day.

Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction includes poetry, short fiction, novels, and plays; some items are long out of print or have never before been published.

This collection contains literary works, memoirs, and essays in their original language by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present.

Latinx Thought and Culture: The NPR Archive, 1979-1990 contains digitized audio with transcripts from two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990). They focus on Latinx issues related to politics, sociology, human rights, the arts and more.

Chicano Database is a bibliographic index covering a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants since 1992.

This database includes NATIONAL FARM WORKERS MINISTRY: MOBILIZING SUPPORT FOR MIGRANT WORKERS, 1939-1985.

Primary source database of documents about Latin America and the Caribbean, including academic journals and news feeds covering the region, reference articles and commentary, maps and statistics, and multimedia content.

Primary sources from the archives of the British Colonial Office from 1624-1849, covering topics related to settlement and colonial rivalries in the region, the economics of the plantation system, the rise and decline of the slave trade, the rise of the abolition movement, and the fight to end slavery.

African Diaspora, 1860-present includes digitized primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France.

LGBT Thought and Culture is a primary source collection of key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection includes rare archival content, including seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender provides a collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender.

Defining Gender contains British primary source material from the fifteenth to early twentieth century, including correspondence, advice literature, periodicals, ephemera and government documents, supporting research into traditional models of gender and contemporary perceptions.

Primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This collection supports the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.

HeinOnline’s Civil Rights and Social Justice database offers a diverse array of publications covering civil rights in the United States, including hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights,

LGBTQ+ Rights charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. Topics covered include the Defense of Marriage Act, the AIDS crisis, military service by gay and transgender service members, "bathroom bills," and more. A separate subcollection presents historical texts whose views some readers may find offensive today, showing the prejudicial beliefs that permeated society and helped form the laws of their time.

This collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.

Queer Pasts is a collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense, to embrace topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender and to include work on sexual and gender formations that are queer but not necessarily LGBT.

History of Feminism covers the subject of feminism over the years 1776–1928. It contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, and journal articles.

A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included.

Women's Studies Archive contains archival collections concerning women's history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources, focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The archive includes four parts: Issues and Identities; Voice and Vision; Rare Titles from the American Antiquarian Society, 1820-1922; and Female Forerunners Worldwide.

Primary source database providing a multitude of perspectives on the changing roles of women in history. The database includes government files, personal writings, diaries and journals, correspondence, and rare printed books dating from 1740-1960.

Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history.

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.

This digital archive includes conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century

This database examines efforts to foster gender equity through expanded economic and social participation of women on a global scale. Covering a century, the database highlights and evaluates activism through individual efforts, organizational initiatives, and socio-cultural projects led by or for women in the Global South.

This collection contains literary works, memoirs, and essays in their original language by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present.

Cross-search platform for all Gale primary source digital archives available to Cal Poly. Search all of these databases at the same time: Archives Unbound; Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, 16th-20th Century; Archives of Sexuality and Gender; British Library Newspapers; China and the Modern World; Eighteenth Century Collections Online; Indigenous Peoples of North America; Nineteenth Century Collections Online; Political Extremism and Radicalism; Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970; Refugees, Relief and Resettlement: Forced Migration and World War II; Slavery and Anti-Slavery: a Transnational Archive; and Women's Studies Archive.

Eighteenth Century Journals is a digitized collection of rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835. It provides a primary source of information about colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

Gale Eighteenth Century Collections Online contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800.

You can search back issues of the Los Angeles Times and the New York Times here.

Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles from the San Francisco Chronicle (1869-1984).
Looking for newer content? Search historical and current content together.

CDNC is a freely accessible repository of digitized California newspapers from 1846 to the present.

Freely available digitized newspaper content. Includes historical archives of over 2,000 newspapers, many extending back to the 1800s.

Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles from the San Luis Obispo Tribune (1869-2001). Digitized content includes San Luis Obispo Tribune (1869-1883), San Luis Obispo Daily Telegram (1906-1939), San Luis Obispo Telegram (1908-1912), and San Luis Obispo Telegram-Tribune (1939-2001).

Looking for newer content? Access news articles from 2001 - present.

See hints below for finding primary sources.

Great for finding pre 1925 books, with lots of things like travel descriptions. For instance if you type in Borneo and travel you will find lots.

HeinOnline is a government document and legal research database. It contains U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.

Calisphere provides free access to California collections of photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, and musical recordings, digitized and contributed by California universities, libraries, and museums. The content is publicly available for research, teaching, and private study.

The NASA STI Repository (NTRS) provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, images, and videos created or funded by NASA. Reports and documents date back to 1958 (NASA) and 1900 (NACA). Please note that access to much of the collection is limited to NASA employees and contractors.

Digital Archive of U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976. Content includes reports from the Atomic Energy Commission, the U.S. Bureau of Mines, the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Services, the National Bureau of Standards, and others.