Very Short Introduction Ebooks from Oxford
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowBrief ebooks written by experts across the board - on physics, art, communism, beat poetry - almost anything!
CLA Librarian
Brett Bodemer
Subjects: Anthropology, Art and Design, Art History, Asian Studies, Child Development, Communications, Country Information, English, Ethnic Studies, Feminism, Geography, Government Information, Graphic Communication, History, Interdisciplinary Studies, Journalism, Linguistics, Music, News, Performing Arts, Philosophy and Religious Studies, Political Science, Primary Sources, Psychology, Queer Studies, Science, Technology and Society, Social Sciences, Sociology and Social Work, Theater and Dance, Women's, Gender and Queer Studies, World Languages and Cultures
Purpose of this Guide and Research Help Options
This guide gives you great pointers on the best databases and resources for your field. Don't forget that you can find help on 24/7 LIVE CHAT at any time of day or night. You can also email the CLA librarian, Brett Bodemer, at bbodemer@calpoly.edu.
- Video: Top 5 Reasons to Use 24/7 Live ChatThis 120 second video explains how 5 minutes of chat can save you 15 minutes of agony!
Using MLA Bibliography Database to "Launch" Your Theatre Research
The MLA International Bibliography database can be a great place to brainstorm, identify viable search terms, and link out to valuable books and articles related to theatre. The brief video below shows how to save yourself time and launch your research well by using this database.
- Using MLA Bibliography Database to "Launch" Your Theatre ResearchThis brief video demonstrates how to use the MLA Bibliography Database to launch theatre research, using its tools to brainstorm, identify subject terms, and connect to scholarly content.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography indexes journals covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing, as well as rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language. Also included: MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Search Many Databases at Once
- EBSCOhost (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost (All Databases) provides a single search across all EBSCO databases. Much of this content is different than what appears in OneSearch, but of high value and easy to use for all disciplines.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse the library link and/or be logged into My Cal Poly Portal when you use Google Scholar so you can link out to full text in our databases via the Get it At Cal Poly button. (Sometimes the Get it at Cal Poly Button is hidden UNDER a result so click the two little arrows >> )
- ProQuest (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowProQuest (All Databases) provides a single search across all ProQuest databases.
- OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
- Using OneSearchThis guide gives you lots of tips and tricks for using OneSearch effectively.
- Video: The Four Flavors of Print Books Requests in OneSearch3 minute video explaining requests for physical items in order of how fast you can get to the item.
- Open LibrarySome books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.
- Open Library - Many Books Available Online (Renovation Edition #1)3 minute video showing how to check Open Library for possible immediate online access to books you see listed in OneSearch.
Search Ebook Central, SpringerLink, JSTOR, Project Muse and Wiley for ebooks, chapters and articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and articles, with some current content and lots going way back.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and articles. To get books click Books on left column.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowBooks and Articles. To get books, after first keyword search, click BOOKS in right column.
Find historic Book Reviews/Art Reviews/Play Reviews/Movie Reviews
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Limit your search by date, type your subject in "quote marks " and add the word review.
Example 1: "Armory Show" review
Example 2 "Jackson Pollock" review
This trick works well in the following:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowBe sure and select ALL databases on this page and then you will search 15 EBSCO databases at once.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowBe sure and pick ALL the databases so you can seach ALL the Proquest databases.
Good Databases to Search One at a Time
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a full-text database of scholarly journals and ebooks. Journal content typically starts with the earliest volume but does not include the most recent 3-5 years. JSTOR also includes the entire database of rights-cleared images formerly found in Artstor, as well as images and primary source collections contributed by member organizations.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowLots of scholarly, interdisciplinary journals and ebooks.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMany full-text articles, some from core scholarly journals, but others from popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers across a breadth of disciplines.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowSearches many online encyclopedias and reference works at once.
More Books
- OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
- Video: The Four Flavors of Print Books Requests in OneSearch3 minute video explaining requests for physical items in order of how fast you can get to the item.
- Open LibrarySome books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window100s of libraries in North America - and we share most print materials!
Find Older Magazines via Google Books
- Google BooksTo Find Older Magazines:
1) Enter keyword search
2) Select Tools
3) Under ANY DOCUMENT TYPE - choose MAGAZINES
