Research Guides: An Ethnic Studies Research Guide: Bilingual Education

Search Ebook Central, SpringerLink, JSTOR, Project Muse and Wiley for ebooks, chapters and articles

Ebook Central
150,000 ebooks, most are keyword searchable!
SpringerLink
Book chapters, books, journal articles.
JSTOR
Scholarly books and articles, with some current content and lots going way back.
Project MUSE
Scholarly books and articles. To get books click Books on left column.
Wiley Online Library
Books and Articles. To get books, after first keyword search, click BOOKS in right column.

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to educational literature and resources. It contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
Education Abstracts
Education Abstracts features content on a wide array of subject areas including adult education, comparative education, government funding, higher education, school administration, teacher evaluation and more.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more. Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
EBSCOhost (All Databases)
EBSCOhost (All Databases) provides a single search across all EBSCO databases. Much of this content is different than what appears in OneSearch, but of high value and easy to use for all disciplines.
ProQuest (All Databases)
ProQuest (All Databases) provides a single search across all ProQuest databases.

OneSearch
Use relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
Using OneSearch
This guide gives you lots of tips and tricks for using OneSearch effectively.
Open Library
Some books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.
Open Library - Many Books Available Online (Renovation Edition #1)
3 minute video showing how to check Open Library for possible immediate online access to books you see listed in OneSearch.

California Newspapers (Newsbank)
Searchable full text from California newspapers, including the Tribune (San Luis Obispo), the San Francisco Chronicle, the Fresno Bee, the Sacramento Bee, and the San Diego Union-Tribune.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times (1851 - 4 years ago), the Los Angeles Times (1881 - 9 years ago), and the Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010). All three newspapers may be searched at once.
See ProQuest Global Newsstream for more recent content.
ProQuest Global Newsstream
Global Newsstream provides a large collection of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher features in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each single-themed report provides an introductory overview, including pro-con issues; a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Opposing Viewpoints
Provides information on key current social issues and “hot topics” from a number of perspectives. Includes: topic overviews; viewpoint articles; primary source documents; profiles of individuals, agencies and interest groups; statistical tables, charts and graphs; and other useful material for debates and argumentation writing assignments.