FSN 281 Writing in Nutrition Science
Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Librarian
Recommended Resources
Find Articles
- PubMed This link opens in a new window This open access database combines content from the National Library of Medicine's database of journals (MEDLINE), NLM's full-text archive (Pubmed Central), as well as technical reports, reference works, systematic reviews, clinical guidelines, online monographs.
This self-paced Pubmed tutorial provides an excellent overview of how to use the search tool.
The Pubmed Frequently Asked Questions page has short descriptions of how to use each feature.
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window FSTA focuses on pure and applied research in food science, food technology, and food-related nutrition. It covers the complete food manufacturing cycle, from initial market research to final packaging, and includes research and development literature, patents, standards, and legislation.
- CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window CAB Abstracts provides research information on agriculture and related applied life sciences, including Agriculture, Animal Health, Forestry, Human Health and Nutrition, and Natural Resources Management. Global Health from CABI is the definitive international public health database.
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window AGRICOLA is a comprehensive index to journal articles, book chapters, theses and more in the field of agriculture. Disciplines covered include food & human nutrition, agricultural engineering & technology, earth & environmental sciences.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
Training resources for learning to use the CINAHL database on the EBSCOhost platform.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window APA PsycInfo, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports, in psychology, behavioral science, mental health, and related fields. Special features include the ability to search by study group, methodology, or specific test.
- PsycExtra This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycExtra complements APA PsycInfo and the other American Psychological Association (APA) databases with extensive coverage of gray literature relating to psychology and the behavioral sciences. Indexing includes technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, and brochures.
An overview of how to use PsycInfo on the EBSCOhost platform.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts articles in the fields of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies.
- Web of Science (Core Collection)This database features influential journals in all subject areas, as well as books and conference proceedings. It contains citation network data that allow the searcher to find works that are related to each other through references, institutions, funding sources, etc.
A summary of what's in the WOS Core Collection (database), and other databases on the WOS platform
Learn to use the new WOS interface through short tutorials about each feature.
Find Government Information
- Food Environment Atlas State and regional data covering a variety of indicators of a community's ability to access healthy food, including concentration of farms, restaurants and farmers markets, and food benefit program eligibility and use.
- Nutrition.gov Providing easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers.
- National Institutes of Health The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services External Web Site Policy, is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
- Food and Nutrition Information Center Provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers
- Nutrition Data & Statistics from the CDC Provides data sets, reports, and systems related to nutrition.
- Foodborne Outbreak Tracking and Reporting Data, Statistics, & Publications from the CDC Summaries of foodborne disease outbreaks and illnesses by etiology (or source) and food commodities.
Browse Using Call Number Ranges
Sometimes the best way to find relevant resources is to browse in the part(s) of a library collection dedicated to your subject. You can do this physically by visiting the library book shelves, or virtually at the bottom of each record in the library catalog (note this doesn't work for some electronic books). Call numbers can be used as a search term in the library catalog. For instance, searching for TX354 brings up textbooks on food and nutrition.
The multi-faceted nature of food science and nutrition means relevant resources are distributed throughout the library in a variety of subject areas. Below are some call number ranges related to food science and nutrition topics.
G - Geography. Anthropology. Recreation
Subclass GT - Manners and customs
GT2400-3390.5 Customs relative to private life, Including children, marriage, eating and drinking
Q - Science
Subclass QP - Physiology
QP 136-165 Nutrition
R- Medicine
Subclass RA - Public aspects of medicine
RA773-788 Personal health and hygiene, Including clothing, bathing, exercise, travel, nutrition, sleep, sex hygiene
Subclass RC - Internal medicine
RC620-627 Nutritional diseases. Deficiency diseases
Subclass RJ - Pediatrics
RJ206-235 Nutrition and feeding of children and adolescents
Subclass RM- Therapeutics. Pharmacology
RM214-258 Diet therapy. Dietary cookbooks
T - Technology
Subclass TP - Chemical Technology
TP368-456 Food processing and manufacture
TP500-660 Fermentation industries. Beverages. Alcohol
TP670-699 Oils, fats, and waxes
Subclass TX - Home economics
TX341-641 Nutrition. Foods and food supply
TX642-840 Cooking
TX901-946.5 Hospitality industry. Hotels, clubs, restaurants, etc. Food service
To explore even more precise categories within the above subclasses, (e.g. beverage nutrition, QP144.B48), select the letter of the discipline you are interested in (e.g. Q for Science) in the Library of Congress Classification Files, open the file labeled Text (e.g. Q Text) and scroll to the number range for the subclass (e.g. QP 136-165 Nutrition).
For more info, visit this helpful guide on the Library of Congress classification system.