Librarians and specialists have created subject, course, and topic guides to help you navigate through the research process. In these guides, you may find recommended resources and materials, search strategy tips and tricks, and more. 

Visit the Research Guides page.

Note: 

• Research Guides can be searched by subject, type, or owner. 
• On the righthand-side of the Research Guides page is a list of Special Topics Guides.  

Library Databases and Google Scholar

Cal Poly Students have access to over 200 databases containing full-text articles, e-books, videos, and more! There are a few ways to find the best databases for your research. You can browse the entire list of databases, (1) use the drop-down "Browse by Subject" option, or (2) search for databases using keyword(s) e.g., agriculture (see screenshot below).

Google Scholar is a great tool for finding scholarly literature. Visit Google Scholar Search Tips for more information on how to avoid paywalls by linking your Google account to library resources. 

Kennedy Library provides access to more than 600,000 e-books in all disciplines. All are discoverable in OneSearch. Use the E-Books Guide to help you find and access books in OneSearch. There is also the option to find e-books in multi-disciplinary or discipline-specific databases. However, just like when you start your search for other types of resources, like articles, it is recommended to start broadly using OneSearch and then, if needed, explore specific databases. 

Tip:

• In addition to library Course Reserves, you can sometimes find electronic copies of your course textbooks that haven't been put on the reserves list. Try searching in OneSearch with the textbook's title and authors and filter by "Available Online at Cal Poly". Another option: try searching in the database Ebook Central which offers access to nearly 200.000 titles across academic and professional subject areas.

Kennedy Library has self-guided online tutorials, videos, and resources that provide instruction on library research strategies and tools. On the Research 101 guide, you can learn how to find articles and books in OneSearch, distinguish between types of information sources, evaluate sources for relevance and credibility, cite sources, and more!  

Research 101 Tutorials and Videos 

Do you need to create data visualizations for your research assignments? Visit the Introduction to Data Visualization guide for a tutorial on Finding Data and data visualization resources.

Intro to Data Visualization Guide

Pictured are selections from Fall 2019's Eye Candy and Mixed Nuts, presented by the Special Collections and Archives.

Special Collections and Archives (SCA) acquires, organizes, describes, preserves, interprets, and provides access to primary research materials in their original formats to support discovery, education, and research at all levels and across disciplines. Visit the Special Collections and Archives Guide to learn more about digitized primary sources and collections available through SCA's online collections. When the library building opens, you can visit SCA on the 4th floor of the library in room 409.

The Data, GIS, and Digital Projects Lab at Kennedy Library provides support to students working with data at all skill levels and across disciplines. Get help finding datasets, applying software tools for exploration and analysis, and communicating effectively through data visualization.

Visit the Digital Projects Lab Guide for resources and/or to get help with data, GIS, and statistics projects. When the library building opens, you can meet with Data & GIS Specialist, Russ White, or with Peer Assistants on the first floor of the library in Hub 24 at the Data & GIS desk. 

Pictured is the interactive exhibit on the first floor community gallery of Kennedy Library on Monday, September 24, 2018. The exhibit locates visitors in yatspu (the land) and yaktʔɨnɨsmuʔ (the language) of yak tityu tityu yak tiłhini, Northern Chumash Tribe of San Luis Obispo County and Region which Cal Poly is naming their new dormatories after. Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, CA. Photo: Hannah Travis

Linking four programs—art management, the faculty exhibit program, Digital Publishing Pilot, and library community galleries—the Creative Works program at Kennedy Library supports curiosity-based scholarship, creativity, and research at Cal Poly.

The program provides experiential learning opportunities with the university art collection (including an internship program, access to the collection through an online catalog, and course integration); collaborative faculty-driven exhibits; and adaptable gallery spaces for students and faculty to showcase their scholarly and creative work in a variety of ways. The program includes a publishing component through the production of visually rich digital exhibit catalogs.

Visit Creative Works to learn more.