Research Guides: BUS 410 Research Resources: economics home

Country Data Sources

Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
https://guides.lib.calpoly.edu/europaworld
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
The CountryWatch product suite includes CountryReviews, which includes demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information for each country; and CountryWire, which provides daily and archived news coverage for every country in the world. Additional features include CountryWatch Data, CountryWatch Map Gallery, Image Gallery, Global Guide, Political Intelligence Briefing and Intelligence Wire.
To log in, click the login button in the upper right corner and then click "Login via my IP Address."
CountryWatch Forecast : Macroeconomic This link opens in a new window
The CountryWatch Macroeconomic Forecast projects the major macroeconomic variables of each of the established countries in the world over a 20 year period. In addition this Forecast provides five years of history.
To log in, click the login button in the upper right corner and then click "Login via my IP Address." Use the "Intelligence Zone" menu to return to Country Forecasts.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal which provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. The database features unlimited downloads, source citations and direct use or export of results in PowerPoint, Excel PDF and Graphic (PNG) formats.

Users may need to disable ad blocking software on this site if search results links don't work.

The World Factbook Central Intelligence Agency
Researched and published by a US intelligence agency, the CIA.
Country Commercial Guides
These guides, for individual countries, discusses key economic indicators and trade statistics, which countries are dominant in the market, the U.S. market share, the political situation if relevant, the top reasons why U.S. companies should consider exporting to this country, and other issues that affect trade, e.g., terrorism, currency devaluations, trade agreements.

Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Super helpful reports on countries (and consumers in those countries include: Economy, Finance and Trade, PEST, Consumer Values and Behavior, Shopping Habits of Consumer Types (in your country).

Search for Articles

Find articles using the databases listed below

Cal Poly's General Article Search -- ONESearch: https://lib.calpoly.edu/

Once you do a search, narrow your results by date. You normally don't need things from the 1800s.

EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit contains references to economic literature, including citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and full text book reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a full-text database of scholarly journals and ebooks. Journal content typically starts with the earliest volume but does not include the most recent 3-5 years. JSTOR also includes the entire database of rights-cleared images formerly found in Artstor, as well as images and primary source collections contributed by member organizations.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE publishes journals in a variety of disciplines including Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine
SAGE Knowledge eBooks and eReference This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge offers a large selection of ebooks and reference works, including handbooks and specialized encyclopedias. A wide variety of social sciences and related disciplines are covered, including business & management, counseling & psychology, criminology, education, geography, health & social care, media & communication, politics & international relations, and sociology.

Law Resources

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is a legal research database that includes case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, and treatises.
HeinOnline Government, Politics & Law This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a government document and legal research database. It contains U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.