Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Librarian
Leyla Cabugos
Contact:
Hello! These guides are designed to get you started in your information searches. I am available for information research consultations, and can work with you to develop learning experiences that address the information needs of your course or lab group. My work is informed by masters degrees in botany and library science, diverse professional experience in food systems, and ongoing study of evidence synthesis.
(805)756-5719
Subjects: Agribusiness, Agricultural and Environmental Plant Sciences, Agricultural Communication, Agricultural Education, Agriculture, Animal Science, BioResource and Agricultural Engineering, Botany, Earth Science, Environmental Science, Experience Industry Management, Food Science, Forestry and Natural Resources, Horticulture, Hospitality and Tourism, Natural Resources Management and Environmental Sciences, Nutrition, Plant Sciences, Recreation, Reference, Science, Soil Science, Sports, Water and Hydrology, Wine and Viticulture
Recommended Resources
Country Facts
- Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new windowEuromonitor's Passport database (formerly called GMID) is an industry research database that provides international and (select) local statistics, reports and ongoing comment on products, services, companies, channels, consumers, economics, demographics, and social trends. This database is co-sponsored by the College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences and the Orfalea College of Business.
- FAO Country ProfilesThe FAO Country Profiles collects information from the website of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. It also includes a direct link to the Country website for in-depth information.
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities
Cultural Analysis
- Google NewsGoogle News is a news aggregator and app developed by Google. It presents a continuous, customizable flow of articles organized from thousands of publishers and magazines.
- Hofstede insightsCompare countries along the six dimensions of the Hofstede model of national culture.
- Google Public Data ExplorerGoogle Public Data Explorer is designed to make "large, public-interest datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate." Data sources include international organizations, national statistical offices, non-governmental organizations, and research institutions.
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a statistics portal which provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. The database features unlimited downloads, source citations and direct use or export of results in PowerPoint, Excel PDF and Graphic (PNG) formats.
Users may need to disable ad blocking software on this site if search results links don't work.
Economic Analysis
- Google Dataset SearchDataset Search is Google's search engine for datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.
Current Food and Beverage Trends
Research the Imported Product
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowMergent Intellect offers private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. This product is an upgrade to Hoover's Academic and includes access to First Research.
First Research users must start at Mergent Intellect and click through to First Research. Enter any email address at the "Access First Research" screen and click submit.
Who is your U.S. Target Market?
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowMergent Online includes access to U.S. Company Data, a database of U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges, and International Company Data, which includes details of companies representing over 95% of the non-U.S. global market capitalization.
- MRI Simmons This link opens in a new windowMRI Simmons provides information on demographics, lifestyles, product and brand usage, and advertising media preferences of consumers. CROSSTAB reports may be saved or exported. Note: Saved CROSSTAB reports are accessible to all users. Exporting your work is strongly recommended.
Simultaneous users limited to 20. - Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowMergent Intellect offers private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. This product is an upgrade to Hoover's Academic and includes access to First Research.
First Research users must start at Mergent Intellect and click through to First Research. Enter any email address at the "Access First Research" screen and click submit.
The following resources will help you learn how to access information in the MRI Simmons database:
Demonstration with screen shots, from Gast Business Library
Introduction and Building a Simple Crosstabulation, from the Pace Library (14 min. video)
Quick Reports, from the Pace Library (8 min. video)
You can find additional guidance (e.g. on how to interpret Crosstab data or Quick Reports) when signed into the MRI Simmons database, under the question mark icon in the top menu.
Trend and Industry Analysis
- Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new windowGale Directory Library contains an online collection of business-related directories. Titles include Business Rankings Annual, Market Share Reporter, and Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowMergent Intellect offers private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. This product is an upgrade to Hoover's Academic and includes access to First Research.
First Research users must start at Mergent Intellect and click through to First Research. Enter any email address at the "Access First Research" screen and click submit. - Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a statistics portal which provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. The database features unlimited downloads, source citations and direct use or export of results in PowerPoint, Excel PDF and Graphic (PNG) formats.
Users may need to disable ad blocking software on this site if search results links don't work.
Avoiding Plagiarism
Citing Sources Using MLA Style
- Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
