Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Librarian
Leyla Cabugos
Contact:
Hello! These guides are designed to get you started in your information searches. I am available for information research consultations, and can work with you to develop learning experiences that address the information needs of your course or lab group. My work is informed by masters degrees in botany and library science, diverse professional experience in food systems, and ongoing study of evidence synthesis.
(805)756-5719
Subjects: Agribusiness, Agricultural and Environmental Plant Sciences, Agricultural Communication, Agricultural Education, Agriculture, Animal Science, BioResource and Agricultural Engineering, Botany, Earth Science, Environmental Science, Experience Industry Management, Food Science, Forestry and Natural Resources, Horticulture, Hospitality and Tourism, Natural Resources Management and Environmental Sciences, Nutrition, Plant Sciences, Recreation, Reference, Science, Soil Science, Sports, Water and Hydrology, Wine and Viticulture
Recommended Resources
Find Company Information
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Mergent Online includes access to U.S. Company Data, a database of U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges, and International Company Data, which includes details of companies representing over 95% of the non-U.S. global market capitalization.
Find Industry Information
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window Mergent Intellect offers private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. This product is an upgrade to Hoover's Academic and includes access to First Research. First Research users must start at Mergent Intellect and click through to First Research. Enter any email address at the "Access First Research" screen and click submit.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a statistics portal which provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. The database features unlimited downloads, source citations and direct use or export of results in PowerPoint, Excel PDF and Graphic (PNG) formats.
Users may need to disable ad blocking software on this site if search results links don't work.
- ARE Update ARE Update is a bimonthly magazine published by the University of California Giannini Foundation of Agricultural Economics. Features research results and expert opinion from faculty, Cooperative Extension Specialists and graduate students in agricultural and resource economics at UC Davis and UC Berkeley. The ARE Update targets a lay audience of policy makers, Cooperative Extension advisors, agribusiness managers, and other professionals interested in agricultural, resource, environmental, and development economics.
Find Market Research & Consumer Demographics
- Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window Euromonitor's Passport database (formerly called GMID) is an industry research database that provides international and (select) local statistics, reports and ongoing comment on products, services, companies, channels, consumers, economics, demographics, and social trends. This database is co-sponsored by the College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences and the Orfalea College of Business.
- **GMID Interface Update
GMID will release an updated user interface October, 2021. You may increasingly see the database referred to as Euromonitor or Passport. This video highlights the changes.
- MRI Simmons This link opens in a new window MRI Simmons provides information on demographics, lifestyles, product and brand usage, and advertising media preferences of consumers. CROSSTAB reports may be saved or exported. Note: Saved CROSSTAB reports are accessible to all users. Exporting your work is strongly recommended. Simultaneous users limited to 20.
MRI Simmons is updating its user interface on a rolling basis. Kennedy Library has also added the Connect dataset (web and media use) and Quick Reports view to our subscription.
You can find the survey questions and current guidance on how to build and interpret Crosstab or Quick Reports when signed into the MRI Simmons database, under the question mark icon in the top menu. Video tutorials are available below in the box MRI Simmons Tutorials.
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window MarketResearch.com Academic is a research report database covering market intelligence on consumer demographics, market size and growth trends, industry forces and structure, product trends, competitive environment analysis, and company profiles.
Find Articles
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Business Source Premier provides full text for journals covering marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window ABI/INFORM provides in-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics. Content includes full-text journals, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
- ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Global Newsstream provides a large collection of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format.
- California Newspapers (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window Searchable full text from California newspapers, including the Tribune (San Luis Obispo), the San Francisco Chronicle, the Fresno Bee, the Sacramento Bee, and the San Diego Union-Tribune.
Find Government Information & Statistics
- USDA Census of Agriculture The Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. Conducted every five years, the Census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States.
- USDA Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) administers programs that create domestic and international marketing opportunities for U.S. producers of food, fiber, and specialty crops. AMS also provides the agriculture industry with valuable services to ensure the quality and availability of wholesome food for consumers across the country.
- USDA Economic Research Service (ERS) The Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
- USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples.
- Economic Census The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy.
Additional Resources
- Google Advanced Search A more powerful way to search google. Limit search by domain or site.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Off campus users: To avoid CAPTCHA errors during peak times, use VPN for access. Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
MRI Simmons Tutorials
- Accessing MRI SImmonsThis is the first in a series of videos recorded by the Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Librarian at Cal Poly, SLO to introduce students to the uses and navigation of the MRI Simmons database for market research. This video shows users at Cal Poly how to access this licensed resource.
- Using MRI Simmons Quick ReportsThis is the second in a series of videos recorded by the Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Librarian at Cal Poly, SLO to introduce students to the uses and navigation of the MRI Simmons database for market research. This video shows users how to view demographic and psychographic profiles of groups of interest, using Quick Reports.
- Using Crosstab in MRI SimmonsThis is the third in a series of videos recorded by the Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Librarian at Cal Poly, SLO to introduce students to the uses and navigation of the MRI Simmons database for market research. This video shows users how use Crosstab to examine relationships among particular responses in the survey data.
- MRI Simmons User GuideMore detailed instructions for using quick reports, crosstab, and more in MRI Simmons.
