Westlaw is a legal research database that includes case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, and treatises.
As of October 10, 2017, LexisNexis Academic has migrated to a new platform called Nexis Uni.
Nexis Uni indexes business, legal and news sources, including newspapers, periodicals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, blogs, corporate directories and financial information, and backfiles of local, regional and national newspapers from around the world.
Nexis Uni also includes complete coverage of U.S. federal and state courts, US federal, state, and municipal codes, Shepard’s® Citations Service, and access to hundreds of law reviews.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Search results may be from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Help setting Library Links to access Cal Poly resources is available here.
CAB Abstracts provides research information on agriculture and related applied life sciences, including Agriculture, Animal Health, Forestry, Human Health and Nutrition, and Natural Resources Management. Global Health from CABI is the definitive international public health database.
A comprehensive index of peer-reviewed scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies, as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Provides Full-text access to peer reviewed articles from thousands of journals.
The Department of Conservation provides services and information that promote environmental health, economic vitality, informed land-use decisions and sound management of our state's natural resources.
Department of Fish and Wildlife manages California's diverse fish, wildlife, and plant resources, and the habitats upon which they depend, for their ecological values and for their use and enjoyment by the public.
The California Department of Food and Agriculture mission is To promote and protect a safe, healthy food supply, and enhance local and global agricultural trade, through efficient management, innovation and sound science, with a commitment to environmental stewardship, providing services and information on pest management, marketing, research, organic, animal health, trade, fairs and fertilizing materials.
The State Water Resources Control Board's mission is to preserve, enhance, and restore the quality of California’s water resources and drinking water for the protection of the environment, public health, and all beneficial uses, and to ensure proper water resource allocation and efficient use, for the benefit of present and future generations.
The Wildlife Conservation Board's three main functions are land acquisition, habitat restoration and development of wildlife oriented public access facilities, which are carried out through its programs.
APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.