Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Librarian
Leyla Cabugos
Contact:
Hello! These guides are designed to get you started in your information searches. I am available for information research consultations, and can work with you to develop learning experiences that address the information needs of your course or lab group. My work is informed by masters degrees in botany and library science, diverse professional experience in food systems, and ongoing study of evidence synthesis.
(805)756-5719
Subjects: Agribusiness, Agricultural and Environmental Plant Sciences, Agricultural Communication, Agricultural Education, Agriculture, Animal Science, BioResource and Agricultural Engineering, Botany, Earth Science, Environmental Science, Experience Industry Management, Food Science, Forestry and Natural Resources, Horticulture, Hospitality and Tourism, Natural Resources Management and Environmental Sciences, Nutrition, Plant Sciences, Recreation, Reference, Science, Soil Science, Sports, Water and Hydrology, Wine and Viticulture
Wine and Viticulture Research Guides
Find Articles
The following databases will be useful for searching for articles related to enology and viticulture.
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window FSTA focuses on pure and applied research in food science, food technology, and food-related nutrition. It covers the complete food manufacturing cycle, from initial market research to final packaging, and includes research and development literature, patents, standards, and legislation.
- AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window AGRICOLA is a comprehensive index to journal articles, book chapters, theses and more in the field of agriculture. Disciplines covered include food & human nutrition, agricultural engineering & technology, earth & environmental sciences.
- CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window CAB Abstracts provides research information on agriculture and related applied life sciences, including Agriculture, Animal Health, Forestry, Human Health and Nutrition, and Natural Resources Management. Global Health from CABI is the definitive international public health database.
- BIOSIS Previews (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Index to life sciences and biomedical research from journals, meetings, books, and patents. Covers pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Includes BIOSIS indexing and enhanced MeSH disease terms.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window Web of Science (Core Collection) provides a single search across Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Additional Web of Science databases are easily accessible.
Important Journals
Enology Books
Handbook of Enology by
A must for all serious students and practitioners of viticulture, the <i>Handbook of Enology</i> (volumes 1 and 2) serves as both a text and reference book for students and practitioners interested and working in the field of winemaking. Carefully revised and updated, this second edition features new scientific and technological results to reflect the most up-to-date knowledge in winemaking. Written by two esteemed authors, the handbook discusses the scientific basics and technological problems of winemaking and the resulting consequences for the practitioner, providing an authoritative and complete reference manual for the winemaker, and an in-depth textbook for the student.
Call Number: TP548 .T7613 2006 v.1/TP548 .T7613 2006 v.2ISBN: 0470011572Publication Date: 2006-05-26
Wine Science by
Understand the three pillars of wine science---- grape culture, wine production, and sensory evaluation-- in the third edition of this bestselling title. Author Ronald Jackson takes readers on a scientific tour into the world of wine by detailing the latest discoveries in this exciting industry. From grape anatomy to wine and health, this book includes coverage of material not found in other enology or viticulture texts including details on cork and oak, specialized wine making procedures, and historical origins of procedures. Jackson uniquely breaks down sophisticated techniques, allowing the reader to easily understand wine science processes. NEW to this edition: * Extensive revision and additions on: chemistry of red wine color, origin of grape varietyies, wine language, significance of color and other biasing factors to wine perception, various meanings and significance of wine oxidation * Significant additional coverage on brandy and ice wine production * New illustrations and color photos
Call Number: TP548 .J15 2008 (Ref.)ISBN: 0123736463Publication Date: 2008-03-20
The Chemistry and Biology of Winemaking by
Someone once said that 'wine is a mixture of chemistry, biology and psychology'. It has certainly fascinated people over the centuries and without a doubt been enjoyed by many. Indeed, from its serendipitous roots as an attempt to store fruit, wine has been woven into the fabric of society; from its use in religion to today's sophisticated products sampled over a meal. The Chemistry and Biology of Winemaking not only discusses the science of winemaking but also aims to provide the reader with a wider appreciation of the impact of oenology on human society. Beginning with a history of wine the book discusses a wide range of topics, with particular emphasis on the organisms involved. Starting with the role of yeast in fermentation, it goes on to discuss so-called 'killer yeasts', lactic acid bacteria and the role that genetically modified organisms may have in the future. This book is ideal for anyone interested in the process of winemaking and will be of particular use for those with an interest in the chemical and biological sciences.
Call Number: TP548 .H688 2007ISBN: 0854042660Publication Date: 2007-05-23
Wine Chemistry and Biochemistry by
The aim of this book is to describe chemical and biochemical aspects of winemaking that are currently being researched. The authors have selected the very best experts for each of the areas. The first part of the book summarizes the most important aspects of winemaking technology and microbiology. The second most extensive part deals with the different groups of compounds, how these are modified during the various steps of the production process, and how they affect the wine quality, sensorial aspects, and physiological activity, etc. The third section describes undesirable alterations of wines, including those affecting quality and food safety. Finally, the treatment of data will be considered, an aspect which has not yet been tackled in any other book on enology. In this chapter, the authors not only explain the tools available for analytical data processing, but also indicate the most appropriate treatment to apply, depending on the information required, illustrating with examples throughout the chapter from enological literature.
Call Number: QR151 .W597 2009ISBN: 038774116XPublication Date: 2008-11-14
Wine Microbiology and Biotechnology by
Wine Microbiology and Biotechnology presents developments in fermentation technology, enzyme technology, and technologies for the genetic engineering of microorganisms in a single volume. The book emphasizes the diversity of microorganisms associated with the winemaking process, and broadens the discussion of winemaking to include more modern concepts of biotechnology and molecular biology. In each chapter, recognized authorities in their field link the scientific fundamentals of microbiology, biochemistry, and biotechnology to the practical aspects of wine production and quality. They also provide relevant historical background and offer directions for future research.
Call Number: QR151 .W62 2002ISBN: 0415278503Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Wine Microbiology by
Winemaking from the vineyard to shipment of the bottled product is a series of challenges for winemaking staff. The introductory narrative of this book is designed to be an overview, from the wine microbiologist's point of view, of those critical junctures in the process (CCPs) that are of concern in wine quality as well as intervention/control programs to address them. The second edition of Wine Microbiology builds upon the foundation of its highly successful predecessor with emphasis on modern molecular methods. It has been revised and updated with recent data and conclusions in all chapters.
Call Number: QR151 .F676 1997ISBN: 9780387333410Publication Date: 2006-11-14
Malolactic Fermentation in Wine
Contents - Part one: Understanding the science of malolactic fermentation in wine -- The history of malolactic bacteria in wine -- The chemistry of malolactic fermentation -- The microbiology of malolactic fermentation -- Strain selection techniques -- Organoleptic defects caused by uncontrolled malolactic fermentation -- The nutritional requirements of malolactic bacteria -- Environmental factors affecting malolactic fermentation -- Part two: Understanding the practice of malolactic fermentation in wine -- Overview: understanding the practice of malolactic fermentation -- Guidelines for using commercial strains -- Determining when to add malolactic bacteria -- Troubleshooting guide: a practical application -- Monitoring malolactic fermentation -- Looking into the future -- Part three: Tools for controlled malolactic fermentation -- Contact information -- Lallemand malolactic bacteria and malolactic nutrients -- Wine style techniques for achieving malolactic goals -- Restarting stuck malolactic fermentations -- Calculations and conversions.
Call Number: QR151 .M35 2005 (Oversize)ISBN: 097391470XPublication Date: 2005
Winemaking Problems Solved by
With contributions from a diverse team of international enologists, Winemaking problems solved is an essential, hands-on reference for professionals in the winemaking industry and students of enology.Expert answers to questions that often arise during winemaking can be found in this convenient reference. Arranged in practical question and answer format, itprovides quickly accessible solutions to more than one hundred issues of frequent concern to winemaking professionals. Here's a sample of the questions answered in this book: What is the best way to cold settle my white juices? How do I sample for Brettanomyces? What's the best procedure to clean or store a used barrel? How do I care for the winery pump? My wine is too astringent - what do I do? When can I skip filtering my wine? When will it re-ferment and push the corks? How do I best store and ship my bottled wine? Chapters review issues associated with grape analysis, juice and must preparation, yeast and malolactic fermentation, wine clarification and stabilisation, filtration, packaging and storage. Sections on winery equipment maintenance and troubleshooting, wine microbiology and sanitation are also included. The final part of the book focuses on particular wine quality issues, such as hazes and off-odours.
Call Number: TP548 .W7735 2011ISBN: 1439834164Publication Date: 2010-08-26
Additional Resources
- International Wine Research Database (IWRDB) The International Wine Research Database strives to be the most comprehensive bibliography of wine literature in the world. IWRDB has come a long way since its beginnings as a clippings file and periodicals index in the mid-late 20th century. The database, maintained by a network of wine libraries, is focused on providing indexing for wine literature as comprehensively as possible. Editor-In-Chief: Jon Haupt, Wine Librarian, Sonoma County Wine Library
Find Articles
- AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window AGRICOLA is a comprehensive index to journal articles, book chapters, theses and more in the field of agriculture. Disciplines covered include food & human nutrition, agricultural engineering & technology, earth & environmental sciences.
- CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window CAB Abstracts provides research information on agriculture and related applied life sciences, including Agriculture, Animal Health, Forestry, Human Health and Nutrition, and Natural Resources Management. Global Health from CABI is the definitive international public health database.
- BIOSIS Previews (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Index to life sciences and biomedical research from journals, meetings, books, and patents. Covers pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Includes BIOSIS indexing and enhanced MeSH disease terms.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window Web of Science (Core Collection) provides a single search across Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Additional Web of Science databases are easily accessible.
Important Journals
The following journals are available at Kennedy Library:
Viticulture Books
The Science of Grapevines by
Written by a recognized expert and based on his experience in teaching the subject to students with a variety of educational backgrounds, The Science of Grapevines: Anatomy and Physiology is the only book to comprehensively explore the physiology of the grapevine as it occurs around the world. While other books have focused on the vines of specific regions, the globalization of the wine industry and the resulting increase of lands around the world being used for grapevine cultivation have left a gap in information. This book addresses not only the specific issues and concerns of grapevines from regions around the world, but includes important emerging topics such as global climate change, water relations, temperature effect and more. * Provides global coverage of grapevines, including the regional differences, similarities, challenges and potential changes * Avoids jargon while bringing the reader into this important aspect of the wine industry * Classroom proven by a leading expert in grapevine anatomy
ISBN: 012374881XPublication Date: 2010-02-03
The New Viticulture by
The founder of America's most award-winning vineyard presents a fresh new science for grape growing in harmony with natural forces. Pioneering viticulture in Monterey, California, Douglas Meador called upon other sciences such as quantum physics to elucidate new hypotheses of hormonal control systems and plant sap circulation. Through 35 years of close observation of European and California vineyards, the author recommends sound practices for vineyard design, spacing, and orientation along with irrigation, pruning, and trellising to achieve optimum results for the terroir and grape variety.
ISBN: 0615234747Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Wine Grape Varieties in California by
Inside you'll find information on ripening periods for 53 varieties grown in California, ripening dates of varieties by period and growing district, detailed illustrations of grapevine structure, a glossary, and a bibliography. The star of the show is the discussion of the 36 major wine grape varieties grown in the state, covering synonyms, source, physical characteristics such as clusters, berries, and leaves, harvest periods and methods, and winery use. Each variety is highlighted by close-up photography of its clusters, leaves, and leaf shoots - 107 lush color photos in all.
ISBN: 1879906635Publication Date: 2002-10-07
Grapes by
Grapes are one of the world's most widely-planted horticultural crops, used to make a variety of fresh, dried and processed products. The science of grapes and grape production are discussed through an examination of wine grapes as well as grapes for fresh consumption and raisin production. Providing historical and current information about the grape industry, the chapters cover genetics, breeding and cultivars, grapevine growth, development and nutrition, climate requirements, pests and diseases and post-harvest production. This informative text thoroughly covers the influence of the environment on grapevine health and productivity, and informs the reader on how grapes are grown and factors affecting grape quality.
ISBN: 1845934016Publication Date: 2009-01-30
Growing Wine Grapes by
Containing advice from the experts, this guide offers helpful tips for growing wine grapes in any climate.
ISBN: 0961907207Publication Date: 1994-09-01
Growing Quality Grapes to Winery Specifications by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 77) and index.
Errata slip inserted.
"Cooperative Research Centre for Viticulture"--Cover.
Call Number: SB338 .G72 2003ISBN: 187513039XPublication Date: 2003- Viticulture by
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
"Second edition published in 2004; reprinted with alterations in 2005"--T.p. verso.
Call Number: SB398.A8 V62 2005 v.1 /SB398.A8 V62 2005 v.2ISBN: 0975685007Publication Date: 2005
- General Viticulture by
Includes bibliographical references (p. 421-431) and index.
Call Number: SB388 .G3213 2000ISBN: 2905428139Publication Date: 2000
Compendium of Grape Diseases by
Of interest to everyone who works with grapes. Includes sections on cultural practices and selection of planting material.
Call Number: SB608.G7 C385 1988ISBN: 0890540888Publication Date: 1988-06-01- Grape Pest Management by
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Call Number: AGX CA A2 P9 3343/ rev. (Docs)ISBN: 0931876966Publication Date: 1992-02-01
Great Wine Terroirs by
"The vine and its wine are a great mystery. Only the vine reveals to us what is the real taste of the earth," writes Colette. In this sumptuously illustrated and wonderfully informative book, Jacques Fanet invites us on an entertaining tour of the world's most celebrated winegrowing regions to discover the characteristics of the bond that ties the vine to its place of birth: the terroir. Terroir is a uniquely French term for the subtle interaction of natural factors and human skills that define the characteristics of each winegrowing region. Interviewing growers and researchers in France, Spain, Italy, California, Chile, Australia, and South Africa, Fanet looks for the soil in the soul of each wine. He takes us back millions of years to show how movements in the ancient bedrock, faults, mountain building, tidal flow, sedimentation, and volcanic activity contribute to the precise and individual character of each terroir, making the great winegrowing regions what they are today. Great Wine Terroirs provides wine enthusiasts with everything they will want to know about different soils and climates, the relationship between international grape varieties and the soil in which they grow, and how these factors affect the taste of the wines. Color geological illustrations and timelines support the text and explain key phenomena. Fanet also provides a glossary, geographical index, and index of soil types and grape varieties. He explains enological practices and their effect on the terroirs and answers questions such as why the Châteauneuf plateau, almost 300 feet about the Rhône Valley, is surrounded by river alluvia and why there are fossilized oysters in the soils of Chablis. Those interested in the wine of California will find a lively discussion of the Napa Valley, with a detailed explanation of how the San Andreas fault, the Sierra Nevada, and the Great Central Valley have all played a part in creating the most spectacular wine-producing region on the continent.
Call Number: TP553 .F35 2004ISBN: 0520238583Publication Date: 2004-11-01
Soils for Fine Wines by
In recent years, viticulture has seen phenomenal growth, particularly in such countries as Australia, New Zealand, the United States, Argentina, Chile, and South Africa. The surge in production of quality wines in these countries has been built largely on the practice of good oenology and investment in high technology in the winery, enabling vintners to produce consistently good, even fine, wines. Yet relatively little attention has been paid to the influence of vineyard conditions on wines and their distinctiveness. This book provides basic information on soil properties and behaviour in the context of site selection for new vineyards, and on the demands placed on soils for grape growth and production of wines.
Call Number: S591 .W493 2003ISBN: 0195141024Publication Date: 2003-07-31
Understanding Vineyard Soils by
Terroir connotes a sense of place that imparts a distinctive character to wine. A central component of terroir is the soil and its immediate surroundings. Thus, an understanding of the basic properties of soils and how they function as a "living skin" on the earth's surface is of fundamentalimportance to grape growers and winemakers. Stripped of scientific jargon, Understanding Vineyard Soils explains to a wide audience how soils form and why they are so variable. Robert White describes essential chemical and physical processes involving nutrients, water, oxygen and carbon dioxide,moderated by the activities of soil organisms, and proposes remedies to alleviate adverse conditions such as soil acidity, compaction, poor drainage and salinity. The pros and cons of organic viticulture are discussed, as are the possible impacts of climate change. The author explains howsustainable wine production requires grape growers and winemakers to take care of the soil and minimize the impact of their activities on the environment. This book is a practical guide for viticulturists and for the lay reader who is seeking general information about soils, but who may also wish topursue in more depth the influence of different soil types on vine performance and wine character. Understanding Vineyard Soils will discuss new developments, especially in precision viticulture and organic viticulture. The introduction will address new technologies (near and remote sensing, digital soil mapping) as well as traditional soil classification. Following a chapter on site selectionare the three core chapters on vineyard and soil management - The Nutrition of Grapevines, Where the Vine Roots Live, and The Living Soil. The book is written from an international perspective - the important points discussed in Chapters 1 through 6 are illustrated with examples drawn from many wine regions around the world.
Call Number: S597.G68 W45 2009ISBN: 0195311256Publication Date: 2009-04-28
Additional Resources
- AgNIC Viticulture List of viticulture resources provided by Agriculture Network Information Center (AgNIC)
- International Wine Research Database (IWRDB) The International Wine Research Database strives to be the most comprehensive bibliography of wine literature in the world. IWRDB has come a long way since its beginnings as a clippings file and periodicals index in the mid-late 20th century. The database, maintained by a network of wine libraries, is focused on providing indexing for wine literature as comprehensively as possible. Editor-In-Chief: Jon Haupt, Wine Librarian, Sonoma County Wine Library
Reports, Handouts and Directories
- California Grape Acreage Available online and in print (HD9259.G7 U515 (Ref)).
- California Grape Crush Reports - National Agricultural Statistics Service Historical and current crush reports.
- California Harvest and Winegrowing Reports - The Wine Institute Historical and current data.
- Global Wine Call Number: HD9370.1 .G66 (Ref) Permanent Reserves Collection Available at the Check-out Desk
- Global Wine: Challenges and Opportunities Facing the Wine Industry Call Number: HD9370.5 .G56 2010 (Ref) Permanent Reserves Collection Available at the Check-out Desk
- The U.S. Wine Market: Impact Databank Review and Forecast Call Number: HD9374 .I56 (Ref) Permanent Reserves Collection Available at the Check-out Desk
- Wine & Spirits Industry Marketing - Adams Beverage Group Call Number: HD9372 .W6 (Ref) Permanent Reserves Collection Available at the Check-out Desk
- Wine Handbook Call Number: HD9372 .W53 (Ref) Permanent Reserves Collection Available at the Check-out Desk
- Wine in the United States Call Number: HD9370.1 .W562 (Ref) Permanent Reserves Collection Available at the Check-out Desk
- Wine Production in the U.S. Call Number: HD9375 .W56 2009 (Ref) Permanent Reserves Collection Available at the Check-out Desk
- Wine Statistics - The Wine Institute California, United States and global data.
- Wines & Vines Buyer's Guide Issue Call Number: HD9372 .W5 Permanent Reserves Collection Available at the Check-out Desk
- Wine Trends Annual Report Call Number: HD9377.C2 W56 (Ref) Permanent Reserves Collection Available at the Check-out Desk
Industry and Market Resources
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new windowABI/INFORM provides in-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics. Content includes full-text journals, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
- Wine Business.comThe Home Page for the Wine Industry
- Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window Euromonitor's Passport database (formerly called GMID) is an industry research database that provides international and (select) local statistics, reports and ongoing comment on products, services, companies, channels, consumers, economics, demographics, and social trends. This database is co-sponsored by the College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences and the Orfalea College of Business.
- Just-drinks.com This link opens in a new window just-drinks is an online-only provider of news, analysis, commentary and market intelligence to the global drinks industry. Users must create an account and log in. New users register here: Cal Poly academic membership.
- MRI Simmons This link opens in a new window MRI Simmons provides information on demographics, lifestyles, product and brand usage, and advertising media preferences of consumers. CROSSTAB reports may be saved or exported. Note: Saved CROSSTAB reports are accessible to all users. Exporting your work is strongly recommended. Simultaneous users limited to 20.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowMergent Intellect offers private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. This product is an upgrade to Hoover's Academic and includes access to First Research.
First Research users must start at Mergent Intellect and click through to First Research. Enter any email address at the "Access First Research" screen and click submit. - Thomas Register of American Manufacturers (ThomasNet.com) This link opens in a new window ThomasNet is a comprehensive online directory of suppliers of building and related products. Includes supplier directory, product search, CAD models, quote service, certificate search, and industry news.
Legal Resources
Statistics
Important Journals
