Hello! These guides are designed to get you started in your information searches. I am available for information research consultations, and can work with you to develop learning experiences that address the information needs of your course or lab group. My work is informed by masters degrees in botany and library science, diverse professional experience in food systems, and ongoing study of evidence synthesis.
ABI/INFORM provides in-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics. Content includes full-text journals, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
A comprehensive index of peer-reviewed scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies, as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Provides Full-text access to peer reviewed articles from thousands of journals.
Business Source PremierThis link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Premier provides full text for journals covering marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
CAB Abstracts provides research information on agriculture and related applied life sciences, including Agriculture, Animal Health, Forestry, Human Health and Nutrition, and Natural Resources Management. Global Health from CABI is the definitive international public health database.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to educational literature and resources. It contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
HeinOnline's Business of Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE) presents a comprehensive treatment of sports and entertainment. It features scholarly articles, federal and state documents, full-text books, a selective bibliography, topically arranged external links, archives from the National Sports Institute of Marquette University, and materials on the Athlete Agents Act.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. There is full text for hundreds of publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
JSTOR is a full-text database of back issues for scholarly journals as well as eBooks, primarily in the social sciences and humanities. eBook content reflects current scholarship in most cases while journal content starts with volume one, but because JSTOR is an archival database, the most recent 3-5 years of journal issues are not available in JSTOR.
APA PsycInfo, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports, in psychology, behavioral science, mental health, and related fields. Special features include the ability to search by study group, methodology, or specific test.
Part of the Web of Science™ Core Collection, Social Sciences Citation Index® provides full bibliographic and cited reference data for journals in disciplines such as: communication, education, geography, history & philosophy of the social sciences, law, political science, public health, social issues & sociology.
SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive indexing and full-text access to sports and sports medicine journals. Subject areas covered include: biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health and therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports and exercise psychology, coaching and education, and sports medicine.
SpringerLink hosts thousands of high quality peer-reviewed journals and e-books in the natural sciences, medicine, engineering, business & economics, social sciences, architecture, food & nutrition, and environmental sciences. Recently added Palgrave content includes a large number of titles on humanities and social sciences topics, particularly in media & culture, theatre & performance, language & literature, education, religion & society, and political science & international relations. The site also provides full-text access to many useful handbooks and textbooks.
Electronic books within the collections below should also appear in the library catalog, Onesearch. Searching in the databases below may allow you to search the full text to find content of interest within a book.
EBSCO's eBook Collection offers scholarly and reference books as well as literary classics. All available titles may be read online in PDF format; some may also be downloaded for limited periods for offline reading (users must create a free EBSCOhost account before downloading).
Ebook Central offers access to nearly 200.000 titles across academic and professional subject areas, including titles university presses and other scholarly publishers. Ebook Central combines formerly separate services Ebook Library (EBL), Ebrary, and MyiLibrary.
SAGE Knowledge offers a large selection of ebooks and reference works, including handbooks and specialized encyclopedias. A wide variety of social sciences and related disciplines are covered, including business & management, counseling & psychology, criminology, education, geography, health & social care, media & communication, politics & international relations, and sociology.
Google Books is a useful platform for full-text searching works that have been scanned by Google or a partner library. You may only be able to read a snippet of works you find via Google Books, but you can search for the title in the library catalog for full access.