Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Food Science & Nutrition

Recommended Resources

Find Articles

This self-paced Pubmed tutorial provides an excellent overview of how to use the search tool.

Guide to using FSTA on the Web of Science platform. 

Video on using FSTA's specialized search terms

Guide to using the FSTA thesaurus to find search terms you can use to search by Topic (find any mention of your term) or Descriptor (limited to works that are about your term) fields in the database. 

Training resources for learning to use the CINAHL database on the EBSCOhost platform.

An overview of how to use PsychInfo on the EBSCOhost platform.

Web of Science Coverage Guide

A summary of what's in the WOS Core Collection (database), and other databases on the WOS platform

What's in the Core Collection?

Web of Science Tutorials

Learn to use the new WOS interface through short tutorials about each feature.

 

Find Government Information

Browse Using Call Number Ranges

Sometimes the best way to find relevant resources is to browse in the part(s) of a library collection dedicated to your subject. You can do this physically by visiting the library book shelves, or virtually at the bottom of each record in the library catalog (note this doesn't work for some electronic books).  Call numbers can be used as a search term in the library catalog. For instance, searching for TX354 brings up textbooks on food and nutrition.

The multi-faceted nature of food science and nutrition means relevant resources are distributed throughout the library in a variety of subject areas. Below are some call number ranges related to food science and nutrition topics.

G - Geography. Anthropology. Recreation

Subclass GT - Manners and customs

    GT2400-3390.5 Customs relative to private life, Including children, marriage, eating and drinking

Q - Science

Subclass QP - Physiology

    QP 136-165 Nutrition

R- Medicine

Subclass RA - Public aspects of medicine

    RA773-788 Personal health and hygiene, Including clothing, bathing, exercise, travel, nutrition, sleep, sex hygiene

Subclass RC - Internal medicine

    RC620-627 Nutritional diseases. Deficiency diseases

Subclass RJ - Pediatrics

    RJ206-235 Nutrition and feeding of children and adolescents

Subclass RM- Therapeutics. Pharmacology

    RM214-258 Diet therapy. Dietary cookbooks

T - Technology

Subclass TP - Chemical Technology

    TP368-456 Food processing and manufacture
    TP500-660 Fermentation industries. Beverages. Alcohol
    TP670-699 Oils, fats, and waxes

Subclass TX - Home economics

    TX341-641 Nutrition. Foods and food supply
    TX642-840 Cooking
    TX901-946.5 Hospitality industry. Hotels, clubs, restaurants, etc. Food service

To explore even more precise categories within the above subclasses, (e.g. beverage nutrition, QP144.B48), select the letter of the discipline you are interested in (e.g. Q for Science) in the Library of Congress Classification Files, open the file labeled Text (e.g. Q Text) and scroll to the number range for the subclass (e.g. QP 136-165 Nutrition). 

For more info, visit this helpful guide on the Library of Congress classification system.