Research Guides: Political Science 225: Article and Info Databases

Search Many Article Databases at Once

Academic Search Premier
A comprehensive index of peer-reviewed scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies, as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Provides Full-text access to peer reviewed articles from thousands of journals.
Google Scholar
Off campus users: To avoid CAPTCHA errors during peak times, use VPN for access. Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM provides in-depth coverage of business issues, management techniques, competitive information, and a variety of other topics. Content includes full-text journals, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.

Search Ebrary, SpringerLink and Project Muse for ebooks

SpringerLink
SpringerLink hosts thousands of high quality peer-reviewed journals and e-books in most areas of science, technology, engineering, mathematics, humanities, and social sciences. E-book content includes the Synthesis Lecture series as well as technical handbooks and textbooks.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE provides scholarly humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.

Databases Good To Search One at a Time

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
The CountryWatch product suite includes CountryReviews, which includes demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information for each country; and CountryWire, which provides daily and archived news coverage for every country in the world. Additional features include CountryWatch Data, CountryWatch Map Gallery, Image Gallery, Global Guide, Political Intelligence Briefing and Intelligence Wire.
To log in, click the login button in the upper right corner and then click "Login via my IP Address."
CountryWatch Forecast : Macroeconomic This link opens in a new window
The CountryWatch Macroeconomic Forecast projects the major macroeconomic variables of each of the established countries in the world over a 20 year period. In addition this Forecast provides five years of history.
To log in, click the login button in the upper right corner and then click "Login via my IP Address." Use the "Intelligence Zone" menu to return to Country Forecasts.
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Europa World Plus features economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data on countries and territories of the world. Comparative statistics tables and charts can be generated for online viewing or download.

RAND California This link opens in a new window
RAND California provides information, research reports and statistics on the California economy and public policy issues, as well as access to selected policy reports, statistics, and information at the national and international scale.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Military & Government Collection covers subjects related to all branches of the military and government, including defense systems, disease control, monetary policy, international relations, and environmental policy, with full text available for hundreds of indexed publications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a full-text database of scholarly journals and ebooks. Journal content typically starts with the earliest volume but does not include the most recent 3-5 years. JSTOR also includes the entire database of rights-cleared images formerly found in Artstor, as well as images and primary source collections contributed by member organizations.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of peer-reviewed scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies, as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Provides Full-text access to peer reviewed articles from thousands of journals.

Free Web Sources

Department of State Background Notes
CIA World Factbook
United Nations Documentation Center
A portal to many United Nations, UNESCO and NGO documents
Gov.info.gov
This site gives you access to current and historical information from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Congress.gov
Find congressional information on bills and more.
Congressional Research Service Reports at UNT
Congressional Research Reports offer concise and detailed summaries, and often point to primary documents. University of North Texas is compiling all those that have been previously published and putting them up for access here.
National Security Archives
Hosted by George Washington University, it provides topical reports and links to documents made available due to the Freedom of Information Act.
GAO
The Government Accountability Office is the investigative arm of Congress, and provides reports across the board.