Westlaw is a legal research database that includes case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, and treatises.
HeinOnline is a government document and legal research database. It contains U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.
This collection is devoted to the electoral process: how elections are conducted, the strategy and controversies of political campaigns, how votes are counted, and who is allowed to vote. It contains content on historical and more recent elections, as well as elections conducted both in the United States and from around the world.
LGBTQ+ Rights charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. Topics covered include the Defense of Marriage Act, the AIDS crisis, military service by gay and transgender service members, "bathroom bills," and more. A separate subcollection presents historical texts whose views some readers may find offensive today, showing the prejudicial beliefs that permeated society and helped form the laws of their time.
HeinOnline’s Civil Rights and Social Justice database offers a diverse array of publications covering civil rights in the United States, including hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights,
Exploring Race in Society covers key issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.
HeinOnline Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S. is a compilation of historical documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States, as well as current hearings, debates, and recent developments in immigration law. It also includes BIA Precedent Decisions, legislative histories, law and policy titles, extradition titles, scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and other related works.
HeinOnline Water Rights & Resources touches on a wide range of water issues, including irrigation, hydropower, riparian rights, water conservation, drinking water quality, and tribal water rights, encompassing the unique water rights issues that span from the Eastern seaboard to the Great Lakes and across the arid West.
This database contains titles on the American workplace, including content related to the establishment of a minimum wage and the 40-hour workweek, hazards faced by workers in the workplace and the safeguards in place to protect them, as well as efforts to make the workplace equitable for all.
With titles from the Animal Legal Defense Fund and Animal Welfare Institute, HeinOnline Animal Studies: Law, Welfare and Rights aims to establish the foundational laws pertaining to animals and follow the evolution of these rights throughout the years. It includes philosophical books dating back to the 1800's, videos, periodicals, brochures, and more.
HeinOnline's Business of Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE) presents a comprehensive treatment of sports and entertainment. It features scholarly articles, federal and state documents, full-text books, a selective bibliography, topically arranged external links, archives from the National Sports Institute of Marquette University, and materials on the Athlete Agents Act.
This interactive digital edition of Tocqueville's Democracy in America takes students and researchers back to Tocqueville's 1831, providing full-text links to the works Tocqueville read while he traveled, researched, and wrote Democracy in America. This database includes more than 1,000 annotations and references.