This primary source collection offers a window into centuries of Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life, as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of Hispanic descent. The content is sourced from American and global news sources, including Spanish-language or bilingual publications, from the early 18th century to the present day.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction includes poetry, short fiction, novels, and plays; some items are long out of print or have never before been published.
This collection contains literary works, memoirs, and essays in their original language by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present.
Latinx Thought and Culture: The NPR Archive, 1979-1990 contains digitized audio with transcripts from two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990). They focus on Latinx issues related to politics, sociology, human rights, the arts and more.
Chicano Database is a bibliographic index covering a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants since 1992.
Primary source database of documents about Latin America and the Caribbean, including academic journals and news feeds covering the region, reference articles and commentary, maps and statistics, and multimedia content.
Primary sources from the archives of the British Colonial Office from 1624-1849, covering topics related to settlement and colonial rivalries in the region, the economics of the plantation system, the rise and decline of the slave trade, the rise of the abolition movement, and the fight to end slavery.
Decolonization: Politics and Independence in Former Colonial and Commonwealth Territories presents political ephemera and organizational material produced in previously colonized countries and territories throughout the twentieth century.
African Diaspora, 1860-present includes digitized primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France.