World Languages and Cultures
Purpose of this Page
This page is intended to provide pointers to citation help for various disciplines in the College of Liberal Arts.
And remember, for citation and research questions you can also go get live help on 24/7 Live Chat.
Popular Citation Styles - APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, CSE/CBE, Harvard, IEEE
APA Style
Established by the American Psychological Association. This style is standard for multiple disciplines including many in the Social Sciences. The official APA style site provides robust citation examples and support.
- APA Style Reference ExamplesThe official APA site has perfect examples in APA style, based on the 2019, 8th edition.
- Official APA SiteThis online site provides official guidance for APA grammar, stylistics, and clearly describes how to format in-text citations.
- APA OWL Purdue (online guide)This guide, curated by librarians at Purdue University, provides detailed guidance for APA style.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01This provides exhaustive documentation for APA stylistics, grammar and citations. Print copies on Permanent Reserves and at the Research Help Desk.
MLA Style
Citation style established by the Modern Language Association.
MLA Handbook (8th edition) by Call Number: Research Help 2nd Floor LB2369 .G53 2016 (Ref)ISBN: 1603292624Publication Date: 2016-04-01The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. There are copies on Permanent Reserves and at the Research Help Desk.
Other Styles
TURABIAN, CHICAGO, HARVARD
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Call Number: RESEARCH HELP 2nd Floor LB2369 .T8 2013ISBN: 9780226494425Publication Date: 2018-04-16Turabian provides a more student-friendly version of Chicago style, and this text provides comprehensive guidance. There are copies on Permanent Reserves and at the Research Help Desk.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 022628705XPublication Date: 2017-09-05This exhaustive manual covers all aspects of The Chicago Manual of style. There are copies on Permanent and Reserves and at the Research Help Desk.
- Harvard StyleMendeley provides an online guide to support creation of references according to Harvard Style.
Citation Generators
There are various online tools that will help you generate citations, Some, such as EasyBib and Citation Machine, provide a limited number of citations before asking for some form of payment.
The OWL at Purdue has FREE citation generators for several styles.
WARNING:DO NOT BLINDLY TRUST ANY GENERATORS, AND BE PREPARED TO ADJUST THE CITATIONS IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE PARTICULAR STYLE, INCLUDING INDENTATION, CAPITALIZATION, ITALICIZATION, AND THE ORDER OF THE CONTENT.
Zotero Citation Management Software
- Zotero
Zotero is a free tool that lets you save, cite and manage just about any format of information. You can create separate folders for your research and, since it is hosted remotely, you can access it anywhere, and create bibliographies in a wide range of citation styles. Zotero is available on all the computers in Kennedy Library. - Introduction to Zotero (University of Chicago)Here's a helpful, concise 15-minute tutorial on installing, saving articles, and inserting citations in Zotero.
EndNote
- EndNoteCal Poly's Subscription to the Web of Science databases is augmented by the ability to download a version of EndNote which allows you to download, store, and manage your citations. This ITS page exactly details how to download the software.
Mendeley
- MendeleyMendeley is another citation management platform, hosted by the publishing giant Elsevier, but with a free version that offers basic functionality.