Research Guides: ENGL 147: Writing Arguments About STEM: Claim of Fact Resources

Claim of Fact Resources

Where to Start Your Search

Begin with an initial background search to learn more about your topic (e.g., perform a search on Google or Duck Duck Go). Find reliable sources in OneSearch using keywords (search terms) and filtering. Use a variety of search terms including synonyms and related terms to your main research topics or ideas. Next, try searching one of the following databases using keywords, filtering, and boolean operators. Get help with your search by chatting with a librarian using the 24/7 Live Chat Help tool. For data-related search strategies, visualization techniques, and help from peer instructors, visit the Data, GIS, and Digital Projects Lab Guide.

Example topic: sustainability issues with plastic

Lenses in which to view the topic: production, disposal, and consumption

Example keywords to try in OneSearch and/or databases:

plastic or polyethylene or synthetic
production or manufacture or creation or industry or distribution
disposal or discard or dump or pollution or recycle
consumption or use or application

Databases

Academic Search Premier
A comprehensive index of peer-reviewed scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies, as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Provides Full-text access to peer reviewed articles from thousands of journals.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect hosts thousands of high quality peer-reviewed journals and e-books primarily in the fields of science, technology, and health. The site also provides full-text access to a modest number of e-textbooks.
Ebook Central
Ebook Central offers access to nearly 200.000 titles across academic and professional subject areas, including titles university presses and other scholarly publishers. Ebook Central combines formerly separate services Ebook Library (EBL), Ebrary, and MyiLibrary.
Very Short Introductions
Oxford Very Short Introductions allow you to discover a new topic or subject through an intelligent and serious introduction written by authors who are experts in their field. The series covers a wide range of topics in areas including Arts and Humanities, Science and Mathematics, Social Sciences, Law, and Medicine and Health.
Google Scholar

Off campus users: To avoid CAPTCHA errors during peak times, use VPN for access. Google Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch covers a wide range of topics related to ethnicity and culture; it includes full-text coverage for many newspapers, magazines, and journals, with special attention to ethnic and minority press publications.
Statista
Statista is a statistics portal which provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. The database features unlimited downloads, source citations and direct use or export of results in PowerPoint, Excel PDF and Graphic (PNG) formats.

Users may need to disable ad blocking software on this site if search results links don't work.