Skip to Main Content

Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
New
The library has access to APA's Counseling & Therapy Volume IV collection as well as a selection of related videos. Volume IV centers on issues in counseling such as the rise in cases involving underserved populations, racial trauma victims and veterans suffering from PTSD and addresses topics such as psychopharmacology, neuroscience, LGBTQ, and research methods for courses in counseling, social work, or psychology.

Additional Counseling & Therapy videos may be found here.
New
Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late 19th century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga.
New
This primary source collection details the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings of the activists themselves.
New
Black Thought and Culture is a collection of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.
New
A primary source digital collection of British local and regional newspapers published during the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries. A crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, this collection provides researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history. With more than 160 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 5.5 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements.
New
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. This primary source collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
New
A primary source digital archive hosting a variety of collections. The Kennedy Library has access to the following collections: Asian American Studies, focusing on the experience of Japanese Americans during WWII; African American Studies, focusing on 20th century activism, civil rights, and race relations; and Radical Studies, focusing on 20th century political movements on the far right and far left.
New
HeinOnline Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S. is a compilation of historical documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States, as well as current hearings, debates, and recent developments in immigration law. It also includes BIA Precedent Decisions, legislative histories, law and policy titles, extradition titles, scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and other related works.
New
Primary source digital collection for researchers studying the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge.
New
Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946, Field Basic Documentation is a primary source database for scholars interested in better understanding the World War II incarceration of Japanese American citizens and residents. The War Relocation Authority (WRA) was a government agency tasked with the day-to-day running of the 10 incarceration camps from 1942-1946.
New
LGBT Thought and Culture is a primary source collection of key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection includes rare archival content, including seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera.
New
Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles from the Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005). The Los Angeles Sentinel is one of the oldest, largest and most influential African-American newspapers in the Western United States.
New
North American Indian Drama contains 244 plays by 48 playwrights of the twentieth century. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, representing groups such as Cherokee, Mtis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. Together, the plays demonstrate Native theater’s diversity of tribal traditions and approaches to drama.
New
North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files to create a primary source representation of historical events.
New
Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles from the San Francisco Chronicle (1869-1984).
Looking for newer content? Search historical and current content together.
New
UK Parliamentary Papers is a primary source database containing the full-text digitized content of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from the 18th and 19th centuries, as well as a selection of related parliamentary documents from the 18th century. The full text from Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament from both the House of Commons and House of Lords, from 1803 to 2005, is also included.
New
Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history.
New
Primary source database providing a multitude of perspectives on the changing roles of women in history. The database includes government files, personal writings, diaries and journals, correspondence, and rare printed books dating from 1740-1960.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...