Skip to Main Content

Databases

Filter by title or sort by subject and/or type​

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Primary sources related to the history of European colonization and exploitation across the African continent, including printed works, diaries and journals, correspondence, maps, photographs, and film footage.
New
African Diaspora, 1860-present includes digitized primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France.
American West (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
New
American West contains primary sources supporting the study of westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century.
New
Archives of Sexuality and Gender provides a collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender.
New
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background and coverage of major issues and themes for key worldwide border areas including the U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.
New
A primary source archive for researching the internal politics of China and Britain, their relationship, and the relationships between other Western powers seeking to benefit from the growing trading ports of the Far East.
Colonial Caribbean (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
New
Primary sources from the archives of the British Colonial Office from 1624-1849, covering topics related to settlement and colonial rivalries in the region, the economics of the plantation system, the rise and decline of the slave trade, the rise of the abolition movement, and the fight to end slavery.
Defining Gender (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
New
Defining Gender contains British primary source material from the fifteenth to early twentieth century, including correspondence, advice literature, periodicals, ephemera and government documents, supporting research into traditional models of gender and contemporary perceptions.
New
Disability in the Modern World includes primary sources, supporting materials, archives, and video content, supporting teaching and research in the disciplines of disability history and disability studies, as well as history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas.
New
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the fields of science and engineering.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
New

Exploring Race in Society covers key issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

New
Primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This collection supports the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
HeinOnline Voting Rights and Election Law This link opens in a new window
New
This collection is devoted to the electoral process: how elections are conducted, the strategy and controversies of political campaigns, how votes are counted, and who is allowed to vote. It contains content on historical and more recent elections, as well as elections conducted both in the United States and from around the world.
New
This primary source archive drawn from the manuscript collections of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York offers insights into the everyday lives of the American Jewish population over three centuries.
New
Latinx Thought and Culture: The NPR Archive, 1979-1990 contains digitized audio with transcripts from two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990). They focus on Latinx issues related to politics, sociology, human rights, the arts and more.
LGBT Studies in Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
  • Streaming Media
New
This collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
New
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a modular collection of primary source materials from the Nineteenth Century. The library has access to the following collections: Asia and the West; Europe and Africa, Colonialism and Culture; and Women and Transnational Networks.
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new window
  • User account required -- see instructions
New
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles.
To take full advantage of features such as external full text and Find It links, off-campus users need to create an account and then affiliate their user profile with California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo in the Academic Institution dropdown menu.
New
Political Extremism and Radicalism provides insight on groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through primary sources. The library has access to the following collections: Far-Right and Left Political Groups in the U.S., Europe, and Australia in the Twentieth Century and Far-Right Groups in America.
Queer Pasts (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
New
Queer Pasts is a collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense, to embrace topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender and to include work on sexual and gender formations that are queer but not necessarily LGBT.
New
Primary source materials related to the history of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950.
Slave Voyages This link opens in a new window
  • Public Access
New
Publicly accessible compilation of slave trade records. Learn about the broad origins and forced relocations of more than 12 million African people who were sent across the Atlantic in slave ships, and hundreds of thousands more who were trafficked within the Americas.
New
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is a primary source collection supporting the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. The archive includes four parts: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; The Institution of Slavery; and Age of Emancipation.
The Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
New
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included.
New
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is a scholarly collection for researchers and students of adult comic books and graphic novels. This multi-part resource covers the full spectrum of this visual art form, from pre-comics code era works to modern sequential releases from artists the world over.
New
Wiley Digital Archives: Environmental Science and History focuses on critical aspects of anthropogenic change, with unique and rare archival collections from multiple, global sources.
New
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.
New
This digital archive includes conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century
New
This database examines efforts to foster gender equity through expanded economic and social participation of women on a global scale. Covering a century, the database highlights and evaluates activism through individual efforts, organizational initiatives, and socio-cultural projects led by or for women in the Global South.
Women's Studies Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
New
Women's Studies Archive contains archival collections concerning women's history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources, focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The archive includes four parts: Issues and Identities; Voice and Vision; Rare Titles from the American Antiquarian Society, 1820-1922; and Female Forerunners Worldwide.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...