This guide is inspired by COVID-19 LibGuides from California State University Northridge, Ohio State University and California State University Sacramento.
On June 1, 2023 Interlibrary Loan will (temporarily) discontinue all options to request tangible items such as books and DVDs. Requested materials that have been delivered to Kennedy Library and not picked up by June 16th will be returned to the lending library. This is necessary to facilitate an efficient move-out and set-up for operations during the renovation. Requests for physical items are expected to resume later in the summer.
Access to Physical Collections
If you need materials from the Kennedy Library collection for your own work or wish to place materials on physical course reserves during the next two academic years, please check them out of the library before the end of Spring Quarter, 2023. They will be automatically renewed, and you will have them available for the duration of the renovation.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Physical Course Reserves
Cal Poly students, faculty and staff can easily access our databases and other electronic resources from off-campus. Sign in to My Account using your Cal Poly User ID and password (the same ID and password you use to log into my.calpoly.edu portal.)
For more information, see Off-Campus Access.
Students in need of technology may visit the ITS Tech Rentals page or call 805-756-7000.
Need assistance with technology? Contact the ITS Service Desk at 805-756-7000.
Kennedy Library has access to gazillions of digital materials - articles, books, data, streaming media, and more. The most comprehensive way to get access is to sign into OneSearch to access subscribed content and place requests for for items not instantly available, You can also access subscribed database content by simply signing into your mycalpoly portal. Hundreds of databases provide access to full-text articles, videos, and more. Our Librarians and specialists have created helpful subject, course, and topic guides to help you navigate the research process.
Online Databases COVID-19 Limited-Time Access Resource List
Special Collections and Archives
Kennedy Library provides access to more than 600,000 e-books in all disciplines. All are discoverable in OneSearch.
The library subscribes to several streaming video databases, and users can view streaming content from these databases when they are logged into the Cal Poly portal.
Commercial or ad-supported streaming services
If instructors can't find the video they need in one of the library resources above, they can search for additional streaming options at JustWatch.com and Reelgood.com. This will help determine if the video content is site exclusive (e.g. Netflix, PrimeVideo, or HBO), or if it is available on an ad-supported or low-cost rental platform (e.g. Vudu, Google Play or YouTube). NOTE: The library cannot pay rental costs on commercial services. Ad-supported and free platforms vary in quality and reliability--always preview the entire film yourself before linking it to your students.
We have online tutorials, videos, and guides that provide students with instruction on library research strategies and tools.
Research 101 Tutorials and Videos
We can assist faculty in making course materials available digitally, either using already library-licensed digital materials or, in some cases, by licensing ebooks via faculty requests. Unfortunately, we are unable to provide print and physical course reserves in academic year 22-23.
To place e-materials on reserve, check OneSearch to see if the library already owns the item. If you find an electronic copy in OneSearch, please fill out a Course Reserves request form, and include a OneSearch permalink to the item in the “Special Instructions” box. Placing it on Course Reserves makes it easy for students to find and for us to ensure that the licenses stay current.
If you cannot find the item you are looking for in OneSearch, submit an E-Reserves Purchase Request Form.
Accessing Course Reserves and Materials
When you are signed into OneSearch your request options will appear. These may include physical books/media, digital articles, digital book chapters, and more. If no request option appears you may always fill out a request for Interlibrary Loan.
If you are searching in Databases, look for the "Get It" button, that will drop you into OneSearch and request options for an item.
You can view and track all your requests from “My Account”
Submit a request online:
Questions? You can email: firstname.lastname@example.org