Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology 329 - Research Methods in Psychology

COVID-19: Limited Access to Tangible Kennedy Collections and CSU+ through "Contactless Pick-up"

95% of Kennedy Library collections are online resources, so for these you are in luck no matter where you are located!  Currently, physical materials from Kennedy Library (excluding print Course Reserves) can be requested and checked out through contactless pickup.  Some items can also be requested and checked out using CSU+.  Such access to physical items will not be as rapid as under normal circumstances, so this is not a good option if you are in a hurry. For items held outside the CSU system, ILL can provide articles, select book chapters, and other materials electronically, but no physical items can be requested at this time. For details regarding "contactless pick-up" see the Kennedy COVID-19 Guide at:https://guides.lib.calpoly.edu/COVID-19

This guide gives you great pointers on the best databases and resources for your field. Don't forget that you can find help on 24/7 live chat at any time of day or night.  You can also email the CLA librarian, Brett Bodemer, at bbodemer@calpoly.edu.

Three Great Databases for Psychology

Great Place to Find Tests and Instruments (surveys, scales, etc.)

Articles - Search Many Databases at Once

If you want to search for a particular online journal

Search Ebrary, SpringerLink and Project Muse for ebooks

Search tips for PsycINFO

The PDF below will give you tips for finding more articles about your subject in PsycINFO.  It also gives tips for narrowing your results by:

  • age group
  • date
  • full-text
  • peer-reviewed

It will also help you find:

  • Review articles
  • Tests and Measures

Good Places to Search Precisely One at a Time

More Books

Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science

If you know the article and want to find the full text

Google Scholar: Try the author's last name and a good chunk of the title in "    " and then use the Find it At Cal Poly link, often found hidden beneath the "more" under the result.  Be sure that you are logged into MyCalPoly Portal AND signed into OneSearch.