The ability to critically evaluate information is an important component of research and information gathering. This video discusses using the CRAAP Test to evaluate the quality of information and sources. (Video courtesy of New York Institute of Technology Libraries)
Course reserves are course-specific and supplemental materials set aside by instructors for their classes to ensure all students have free access.
Kennedy Library is excited to be able to provide you with a quarterly list of Cal Poly adopted textbooks held in our e-book collection. Each quarter we will provide links to assigned e-books. All books are available to read online and to checkout for a specified period of time. Books in PDF format are available for download in their entirety
Learn more about the three common types of articles: popular (substantive news), trade, and scholarly. The document below contains the characteristics of each of these types of articles. The video provides additional information and introduces conference proceedings as another type of article you may encounter in your research.
This document outlines the characteristics of scholarly, trade, and popular (substantive news) articles.
The process of peer review is one way in which credibility is established in scholarly literature. Peer-reviewed journals submit manuscripts for critique by scholars in the author's field before publication. This peer review is intended to ensure the articles reflect solid scholarship and advance the state of knowledge in a discipline.
1. Look for limits/filters
Many databases allow you to specify that you want to search only in “peer reviewed” or “refereed” sources.
2. Search the web for information about the journal. Publishers maintain a website for each journal. Look for sections like “about this journal” or “editorial policies” to read whether the journal is described as being peer-reviewed/refereed.
An example can be seen under Overview on this journal's webpage.
Looking in the Right Place
Kennedy Library has over 200 different article databases to choose from, and it's important to choose one that includes journals related to your topic. Some article databases are very broad and cover a wide variety of disciplines, while others are very narrow and only cover specific disciplines.
An example of a broad article database is Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost). This database/index covers almost all disciplines (e.g. psychology, business, biology). An example of a narrower, subject-specific article database is AGRICOLA. This database/index covers topics in agriculture and related disciplines.
Kennedy Library's research guides contain lists of recommended article databases for your discipline. There is also an alphabetical list of databases that includes all of Kennedy Library's article databases.
Databases A-ZA complete alphabetical list of databases available through Kennedy Library
This video shows the basics of using an article database to search for articles on a topic (Video courtesy of UCLA Library)
Plagiarism is a serious academic offense with consequences that may follow you well beyond your studies at Cal Poly. The resources below will help you to understand plagiarism and learn how to avoid it. (video courtesy of Clemson University Libraries)
Information about plagiarism, its definition, and Cal Poly's disciplinary process from the Office of Student Rights and Responsibilities.
Citing your sources is an important step in the research and writing process. The resources below explain why and how to cite your sources and provide examples for you to follow when constructing citation for the sources you use. (video courtesy of North Carolina State University Libraries)