COVID-19: Limited Access to Tangible Kennedy Collections and CSU+ through "Contactless Pick-up"
95% of Kennedy Library collections are online resources, so for these you are in luck no matter where you are located! Currently, physical materials from Kennedy Library (excluding print Course Reserves) can be requested and checked out through contactless pickup. Some items can also be requested and checked out using CSU+. Such access to physical items will not be as rapid as under normal circumstances, so this is not a good option if you are in a hurry. For items held outside the CSU system, ILL can provide articles, select book chapters, and other materials electronically, but no physical items can be requested at this time. For details regarding "contactless pick-up" see the Kennedy COVID-19 Guide at:https://guides.lib.calpoly.edu/COVID-19
This guide gives you great pointers on the best databases and resources for your field. Don't forget that you can find help on 24/7 live chat at any time of day or night. You can also email the CLA librarian, Brett Bodemer, at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Search numerous specialized, scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries and reference works to identify various facets and context-sensitive definitions of sustainability. All you have to do to start is type in:
Europa World Plus features economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data on countries and territories of the world. Comparative statistics tables and charts can be generated for online viewing or download.
Statista provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. The database features unlimited downloads features direct use or export of results in PowerPoint, Excel PDF and Graphic (PNG) formats.
RAND California provides information, research reports and statistics on the California economy and public policy issues, as well as access to selected policy reports, statistics, and information at the national and international scale.
The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) contains thousands of research works including World Bank Group Annual Reports and Independent Evaluation Studies, World Development Reports, and books published by the World Bank Group, as well as a wide selection of journal articles, working papers, and studies.
Add site:.gov to your search terms to get just information from government websites.
Add filetype:pdf to the same search if you want just pdfs.
Add the word statistics to your search to find statistics.
Types of Sources: Scholarly vs. Popular Sources
When exploring a topic and formulating a research question it is important to consult different types of sources as well as points of view. Use this page to be able to identify types of information sources and distinguish between scholarly and popular sources. Your professor may also require a minimum number of sources and types (e.g. peer-reviewed journal articles) that you need to use in your research assignment.