A Communication Studies Guide
Very Short Introduction Ebooks from Oxford
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowBrief ebooks written by experts across the board - on physics, art, communism, beat poetry - almost anything!
CLA Librarian
Brett Bodemer
Subjects: Anthropology, Art and Design, Art History, Asian Studies, Child Development, Communications, Country Information, English, Ethnic Studies, Feminism, Geography, Government Information, Graphic Communication, History, Interdisciplinary Studies, Journalism, Linguistics, Music, News, Performing Arts, Philosophy and Religious Studies, Political Science, Primary Sources, Psychology, Queer Studies, Science, Technology and Society, Social Sciences, Sociology and Social Work, Theater and Dance, Women's and Gender Studies, World Languages and Cultures
Purpose of this Guide and Research Help Options
This guide gives you great pointers on the best databases and resources for your field. Don't forget that you can find help on 24/7 live chat at any time of day or night. You can also email the CLA librarian, Brett Bodemer, at bbodemer@calpoly.edu.
- Chat and other Research HelpIf you want live help now, click on the chat icon at the lower right corner of this page! For further options click on "Chat and Other Research Help" link above.
Journalism Library Research Video - but good for COMS, too!
- Journalism Library Research VideoThis brief video demos how to sign in, search, find peer-review articles, news articles, info about cal poly, and data. You can even speed it up!
Articles - Search Many Databases at Once
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowIN THE UPPER LEFT CORNER, WHERE IT SAYS 'CHOOSE DATABASES' CLICK AND SELECT 'ALL DATABASES' - this will let you search ALL the EBSCO databases at once.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new windowIN THE UPPER LEFT HAND CORNER, CLICK ON the "three line" icon, select CHANGE DATABASES, check the box for SELECT ALL, then scroll to bottom and click on USE SELECTED DATABASES. You will now be searching all Proquest databases at once.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowBy going via the Kennedy Library Link you can link out to full text in a variety places. If you don't see "Find It at Cal Poly" on the results, click the "More" dropdown and it should be there.
Good Article Databases to Search One at a Time
- Communication Source This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 2,200 journals covering marketing, management, and other business fields.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search Ebook Central, SpringerLink, JSTOR, Project Muse and Wiley for ebooks, chapters and articles
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and articles, with some current content and lots going way back.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and articles. To get books click Books on left column.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowBooks and Articles. To get books, after first keyword search, click BOOKS in right column.
If you know the article you want and want to find the full text
Google Scholar: Try the author's last name and a good chunk of the title in " " and then use the Find it At Cal Poly link, often found hidden beneath the "more" under the result. Be sure that you are logged into MyCalPoly Portal AND signed into OneSearch.
- Google Scholar******
If Google Scholar doesn't work, fill out a form at the ILL link below with all the required fields (and more if you have patience) and ILL will seek the item from another library.
Books
- OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy' and then filter for ebooks if you want online ebooks. For tangible items held in Kennedy click on the filter: Robert E. Kennedy Library. You can also filter a second time for books. But remember, If you are signed into OneSearch any record for an item not immediately available will give you clear options for getting articles, chapters, or whole books.
- WorldCAT100s of libraries in North America - and you can request items through Interlibrary Loan.
Gale Virtual Reference
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowThe Gale Virtual Reference Library contains encyclopedias, dictionaries, and standard university reference works covering most subject areas.
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowEuropa World Plus features economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data on countries and territories of the world. Comparative statistics tables and charts can be generated for online viewing or download.