SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science. Users must create an account before accessing SciFinder Scholar. Go here to create a new account. Off campus users must first connect to Cal Poly via VPN.
Reaxys provides chemical properties and preparations for inorganic and organic compounds. It is searchable in multiple ways, including chemical structure, formula, physical property, and reaction. This is a combination of retired databases Beilstein (organic reactions, spectra, properties, etc.), Gmelin (inorganic) and Chemistry Patent Database. This database includes a chemical drawing program.
Web of Science (All Databases) provides a unified search across all Web of Science indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CAB Abstracts & Global Health, Food Science & Technology Abstracts, Inspec, MEDLINE, and Zoological record. Web of Science (All Databases) also includes indexes of scholarly literature from Korea, Russia, Latin America, Portugal, Spain, and South Africa.
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Search results may be from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Help setting Library Links to access Cal Poly resources is available here.
An open access chemistry search engine built with the intention of aggregating and indexing chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository and make it available to everybody, at no charge. ChemSpider is a value-added offering of publicly available chemical structures since many additional properties have been added to each of the chemical structures.
Cal Poly Environmental Health & Safety subscribes to MSDSOnline, an online database to provide Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) for hazardous materials used on campus. THIS RESOURCE IS ONLY AVAILABLE WHEN ACCESSED FROM A CAMPUS COMPUTER.
Ways to Identify a Chemical for Information Retrieval
·Name (problem because there are multiple names for one chemical)
·Formula (problem because there is one formula for multiple chemicals)
·Structure (sometimes search tools will not allow you to deal with stereochemistry)
·Mass (problem because there is one mass for multiple chemicals)
·Physical Properties (problem because there are similar physical properties for multiple chemicals)
·Spectra (difficult to search using any source but is like a Photo ID for a chemical)
·Unique Identifier (i.e. an equivalent of a Social Security Number for a chemical): (1) IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry) Identifier or (2) CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) Registry Number