Chemistry Patent Research Guide
College of Science & Math and School of Education Librarian
Jeanine Scaramozzino
Contact:
Robert E. Kennedy Library, Office 216H
Cal Poly State University
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
Website
Cal Poly State University
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
About this Guide
The left side navigation of this webpage (i.e. guide) has a number of tabs that link to information about subject specific article databases, websites, e-books, etc. that can be accessed through the Library; links to international information resources; information that will allow you to review principles of research and how to find stuff (handouts, tutorials, videos, homework suggestions, specific database instruction); and the many ways to get help with research and assignments. Please be aware that many of these resources are only available to the Cal Poly community and require portal credentials for access.
Patent Resources
- ReaxysReaxys is a chemistry database that also includes 2M chemical patents. Reaxys search tools are intuitive and easy to use, including chemical structure drawing, a query builder, and synthesis planner. Learn more.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowSciFinder-n is the next generation platform derived from SciFinder Classic and includes PatentPak, providing patent content for 46 patent offices. Users must create an account before accessing SciFinder-n or SciFinder Classic. Create account and CAS account help. Learn more about using SciFinder-n.
- United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)The USPTO database houses full text and/or images for US patents issued from 1790+. The site provides instructions for searching and lists of international patent resources.
- United Nation's WIPO PATENTSCOPEUse the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) IP Portal PATENTSCOPE to search 100 million patent documents including more than 4 million published international patent applications from 72 national and regional patent offices. Machine translations are available fro some documents.
- European Patent OfficeProvides searching and free access to over 120M patent documents from applications from 100+ countries. Machine translation of European patents for some languages is available.
- Google PatentsCovers the entire collection of issued patents and millions of patent application made available by the USPTO, from patents issued in the 1790s through those most recently issued in the past few months.
- The LensThe Lens is a free and open-source patent search tool that searches across multiple patent and scholarly research databases in over 95 different jurisdictions. Search capabilities offer advanced Boolean functions, structured search, biological search, classification search, filtering and more.