Russ White is the Data and GIS Specialist at Cal Poly State University’s Robert E. Kennedy Library. He is available to assist students, staff and faculty in finding and applying data, visualization, GIS, and other technical resources in their work. Russ is a graduate of Cal Poly, with an MS in Forestry Sciences.
This bibliography includes Cal Poly authored student research and those co-authored with Cal Poly faculty and staff. Documents include senior projects, master’s theses, class projects, reports, and more.
This document is an example of one of the many different publications in Digital Commons that is about Swanton Pacific Ranch. It also gives an excellent overview of the history of the land and early people in Swanton.
Jeanine Scaramozzino offers a cohesive, descriptive narrative of the land and its people organized chronologically from prehistory to the present. This document provides a summary of the information presented in Scaramozzino’s manuscript.
We’re a different kind of museum, one that focuses on building community here in Santa Cruz County. We build community through exhibitions, events, and projects that connect people to art, history, ideas, and each other. We believe that art and history are for everyone, and we work hard to offer experiences that connect people from many walks of life: across generations, ethnicity, and background. That means multi-cultural festivals, exhibitions filled with wonder, partnerships throughout the county, and surprising, fun connections with people and ideas across our community.
The Local History Collection is actually a group of several smaller collections arranged by type of material. For example, there are collections for photographs, postcards, maps, and newspaper articles.Regardless of what kind of material you are looking for, a basic search will retrieve items from every collection.
Special Collections is the principal repository for the UCSC university archives, preserving non-current records and historical information documenting the campus, its people, its administration and its culture.
The UCSC University Library's Digital Collections site holds a growing treasury of digitized photographs, maps, artwork, oral history transcripts, sound recordings, as well as "born digital" materials. The collections focus on the most rare and unique materials in order to provide access to the UCSC community and the world.
The university has its own page giving a brief overview of the history and mission of Swanton Pacific Ranch. It also includes several Management Plans, maps, and past research and projects done at the ranch.
The 1/3 scale railroad is located on the beautiful 3200-acre Swanton Pacific Ranch near Davenport in Santa Cruz County. A dedicated group of volunteers maintain and operate the railroad on behalf of the Cal Poly College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences. The Swanton Pacific Railroad serves as an operational memorial to Al Smith who acquired and relocated the trains to the Swanton Pacific Ranch. The rolling stock consists of three one-third scale Pacific-type steam locomotives that were built for the 1915 Panama-Pacific International Exposition, a diesel switcher locomotive and a variety of passenger and maintenance of way railcars.
For more information on Swanton Pacific Ranch's flora and fauna, please see chapter four of Jeanine Scaramozzino's Una Legua Cuadrada: Exploring the History of Swanton Pacific Ranch and Environs (link located under Campus Resources tab)
The California Digital Newspaper Collection contains over 1,500,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers.
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
The University Archives documents the history of the University of California, particularly the Office of the President and the Berkeley campus. Collections include official records, reports, publications, correspondence, digital files, maps, photographs, audiovisual materials, oral histories, memorabilia, and the papers of Berkeley faculty.