Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education & Liberal Studies Research Guide

Teachers Resource Center

TRC Collection

The Teachers Resource Collection (TRC) collection primarily supports the needs of the Liberal Studies Department Undergraduate Teacher Preparation program, single- and multi-subject teaching credential programs, children’s literature curriculum, Liberal Studies Department, Psychology and Child Development Department, the School of Education’s Spanish Authorization for Bilingual Educators program, the Special Education master’s degree, and the Curriculum and Instruction master’s degree. Materials are primarily physical but are accessible electronically through the library. Books and research materials about instruction, higher education, etc. are available in the library's main collection and online.

The TRC currently acts as the local California Department of Education K-8 Learning Resources Display Center (LRDC) and provides K-12 reading level fiction and non-fiction books. The collection is currently located on the third floor of the library.  

Learning Resources Display Center California state-adopted textbooks, K-8

The LRDC contains K-8 California state-adopted textbooks, teacher’s edition textbooks, supplemental fiction and non-fiction books, and science experiment kits. LRDC materials are on loan from the State of California and not owned by Cal Poly.The subject materials are updated approximately every eight years on a rotating schedule: English language arts, English language development, mathematics, history-social science, science, visual and performing arts, and world language. These materials are for reference only and may not be checked out.

K-12 Library Collection

The TRC contains fiction and non-fiction books with reading levels that support learners from kindergarten to twelfth grade. The fiction and non-fiction include award-winning titles in authors and illustrators, notable books, multicultural books, and books that meet local, state, and federal school curriculum standards. The TRC contains K-12 Spanish language and bilingual fiction and non-fiction books. The TRC continues to grow to include a variety of materials written by a diversity of authors and topics. Search for an items in the library catalog for items in the TRC.

Important California Board of Education Resources

Free Educational Resources for Distance Learning

The list provides a non-comprehensive list of publishers offering free distance learning resources and offered their site information. The California Department of Education (CDE) has not reviewed these sites and resources, nor does the CDE in any way endorse or specifically recommend these resources. Users should carefully conduct their own evaluation based upon their own specific local needs and the appropriateness of the resources offered. Users can learn about the specific resources available as publishers continue to expand their offerings. Districts are not mandated to utilize only state-adopted instructional materials, and many classrooms utilize a network of resources. In this list below, educators and parents/guardians may discover the individual resources they want for a particular need.

All Curriculum Frameworks

Curriculum frameworks provide guidance for implementing the standards adopted by the State Board of Education. 

Current Standards

The content standards adopted by the California State Board of Education are designed to encourage the highest achievement of every student, by defining the knowledge, concepts, and skills that students should acquire at each grade level.