Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UNIV 330: Cal Poly Lands

Searching for primary sources in University Archives (not digitized)

Many of the materials in the University Archives do not have an online presence. You can only find them in the Special Collections and Archives department in the Library. The staff of Special Collections and Archives are available to help you locate materials that would be helpful for your research. If you want to look around before you come to the archives, here are some places to start.

University Archives Register

The first place to begin your search for primary sources in University Archives is the University Archives Register, which lists the majority of collections in University Archives.

Link to University Archives Register

Collection-level finding aids

Some of the collections listed in the Register have their own inventories. These inventories describe what is in the collection, to a box or folder-level description. 

Collections as they are processed are available on the Online Archive of California

If you find a collection in University Archives that you would like to research, please contact archives staff to schedule an appointment and request the collection, box, or folder you would like to look at.

Presidential Records

The University Archives holds the records of the Cal Poly directors and presidents. 

There are especially large collections of the three presidents who served from 1933 - 2011. These collections have inventories that describe the materials to a folder level:

Crime Statistics

Clery Report

2015 onward: archived copies via Internet Archive: https://wayback.archive-it.org/org-809/*/https://afd.calpoly.edu/police/safety/reports/clery

Earlier reports are physically located in the University Archives, Room 409.

Campus Landscape and Buildings

The University Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the construction and layout of campus and buildings since 1903. 

This includes: 

  • Architectural drawings of campus buildings
  • Master Plan documents
  • Maps of campus
  • Land Use records
  • History of campus landscape
  • Historical research on campus buildings and sites
  • Historic photos and audiovisual materials documenting the campus

Helpful places to start:

ASI Clubs and Organizations

There is a large collection of records documenting the activities of campus clubs and organizations. The bulk of the collection is focused on teh 1950s-1970s. See an inventory to the collection here: ASI Club Records