What are "international & multilingual" research resources?
PLEASE NOTE ALL COSAM & SOE RESEARCH GUIDES ARE BEING UPDATED AT THIS TIME. SOME LINKS AND INFORMATION MAY NOT BE ACCURATE. PLEASE EMAIL ME WITH ANY QUESTIONS. THANK YOU FOR YOUR PATIENCE.
The following resources are part of a curated list of international and multilingual research resources covering a variety of: topics, resource types (ex. peer-reviewed articles, books, proceedings, dissertations, white papers, data sets), and countries. Many of these resources are not indexed in GoogleScholar or traditional Eurocentric subscription based article databases. This international and multilingual content is often not part of Google search results in the United States. Thus this incredible information knowledge base is "hidden" for most US based researchers and results in less international collaborations, duplication of research, and more. This list is a small part of movement to understand that global issues need to be addressed holistically and collaboratively around the world by distributing information. There needs to be a paradigm shift that recognizes that research conducted by researchers based in other countries, governments, and international cooperatives are not sub-par and should be valued along with English language peer-reviewed articles published in "traditional" modalities.
J-STAGE is an electronic journal platform for STEM information in Japan, developed and managed by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST). J-STAGE supports Japanese societies and research organizations, and has published more than 3,000 journals, conference proceedings and other academic publications.
The Lens aggregates and provides access to over 225 million scholarly works, patent records and patent sequences from across the world. Its goal is to enable more people to make better decisions, informed by evidence.
SciELO Citation Index (2002-present) provides scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin America, Portugal, Spain, and South Africa.
SciElo (Scientific Electronic Library Online) is a database that provides access to scientific research from Latin America and the Caribbean. Its aim is to promote and increase the visibility of research from Latin America.
The World Digital Library is a world-wide collection of cross-cultural treasures from libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations around the world. Books, manuscripts, maps, and other primary materials on the site are presented in their original languages. More than 100 languages are represented in the WDL collection, including many lesser known and endangered languages.
Global Health provides an alternative, complementary point of reference with a broad analysis of foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material.
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. GIM indexes 5 regional indexes: African Index Medicus, Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region, Index Medicus for South-East Asia Region, The Latin-American and Caribbean System on Health Sciences Information, Western Pacific Region Index Medicus.
A database of biomedical and health literature indexing over 14,000 journals and covering 30 different languages. HINARI Access to Research for Health Program provides free or very low cost online access to the major journals in biomedical and related social sciences to local, not-for-profit institutions in developing countries.
Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literatures (LILACS) provides access to more than 800,000 records of peer reviewed journals and other research outputs from the Latin American and Caribbean regions.
Russian Science Citation Index (2005-present) provides searching across scholarly articles from researchers publishing in the core Russian science, technology, medical, and education journals. Leading publications have been carefully selected and provided by the Scientific Electronic Library (eLIBRARY.RU), Russia's largest research information provider.
The BWRD historizes and visualizes Black women’s political activism in Africa and in the African Diaspora in efforts to build academic, political, and community engagement, dialogue, knowledge production, research, and education about Black women’s significant legacies as socio-political agents of radical change. BWRD serves as a vehicle to center Black women’s historical political memory, scholarship, epistemologies, and leadership in socio-political movements in Africa, Caribbean, Europe, North America, and South America.
IDEAS - IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. IDEAS is part of RePEc (Research Papers in Economics), which is a large volunteer effort to enhance the free dissemination of research in Economics. It includes research from over 1400 institutions covering 232 countries and territories.
An open access database covering a wide range of topics. It consists of the following 7 databases: Africana Periodical Literature, African Women, Women Travellers to Africa, Islam in Africa, Kenya Coast, Water and Africa and Education in Africa.
The world’s largest platform of African-published scholarly journals. This database is part of the The Journals Online (JOLs) project, aimed to provide increased the visibility, accessibility and quality of peer-reviewed journals published in developing countries.
AfricArXiv is a community-led digital African-owned open scholarly repository; a knowledge commons of African scholarly works. It is a platform for African scientists of any discipline to present their research findings and connect with other researchers on the African continent and globally.
A database providing access to multidisciplinary research outputs published in Bangladeshi journals. This database is part of The Journals Online (JOLs) project, aimed to provide increased the visibility, accessibility and quality of peer-reviewed journals published in developing countries.
A database providing access to multidisciplinary research outputs published in published in Central American journals. This database is part of The Journals Online (JOLs) project, aimed to provide increased the visibility, accessibility and quality of peer-reviewed journals published in developing countries.
Eldis provides free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. It includes over 50,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers. Eldis aim to cover high quality research from smaller research producers, especially those from developing countries, alongside that of the larger, northern based, research organizations.
The KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980-present) provides access to articles from multidisciplinary journals covered in KCI. KCI is managed by the National Research Foundation of Korea and contains bibliographic information for scholarly literature published in Korea.
A database providing access to multidisciplinary research outputs published in published in Mongolian journals. This database is part The Journals Online (JOLs) project, aimed to provide increased the visibility, accessibility and quality of peer-reviewed journals published in developing countries.
A database providing access to multidisciplinary research outputs published in published in Nepalese journals. This database is part of The Journals Online (JOLs) project, aimed to provide increased the visibility, accessibility and quality of peer-reviewed journals published in developing countries.
OSF preprints aggregates search results from a wide range of preprint providers from across the world, including AfricaArXiv, and IndiaRxiv. Over a million preprints are indexed. A preprint is a version of a research article prior to it going through the peer review process.
Sabinet African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform.
A database providing access to multidisciplinary journals published in Sri Lanka. This database is part of The Journals Online (JOLs) project, aimed to provide increased the visibility, accessibility and quality of peer-reviewed journals published in developing countries.
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is the World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. It contains thousands of research outputs on a wide range of topics and from all regions of the world.