Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Artists' Books in Special Collections and Archives

Learn more about the artists' books in Special Collections and Archives

Browsing the collection

What artists' books does Special Collections have?

Artists' books in Special Collections and Archives are cataloged in the library's catalog OneSearch. You can begin you search by browsing the library's collection of artists' books. A good place to begin is by searching "artists books" as a subject and genre in an advanced search.

Start your search here

A tip to "see" the books ahead of time:

You can often search the title of the book and author in an internet search to view images of the book.

More information about searching the library catalog OneSearch can be found at the Special Collections OneSearch Guide and the library's general OneSearch Guide

Language is not Neutral

A point about how we navigate searching through Artists' Books via library catalogs:

To navigate through our collections and search our collections, Kennedy Library uses the Library of Congress' Subject Headings, a "controlled vocabulary," to catalog materials. This is a standard controlled vocabulary for many university libraries. The LOC Subject Headings are posed as "neutral," however, the words and phrases that have been chosen are inherently not neutral. They have inherent bias that primarily reflects a white, cis-male, U.S. standard. As a result, you will find subject headings that may be harmful and offensive.

An example of this bias in action is the use in the Library of Congress Subject Headings of the racist term "illegal alien." Students at Dartmouth advocated for challenging and changing the use of the term. Their advocacy is documented in the documentary Change the SubjectKennedy Library's Culturally Responsive Cataloguing Group spurred the change in our local systems, where the racist term "illegal" no longer appears, and is visibly replaced with "undocumented person." 

Cataloging is a subjective practice. Experiences and identities of individuals shape how they interpret and describe materials. Learn more about critical cataloging.

Visit jaime ding's Peer Review, Citation Practices, and Finding Scholarship to learn more.