Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Skills: COSAM & SOE

Subject Specific Database Help Tools

Visit the appropriate COSAM Subject Guide for database descriptions. See below for specific database tutorials, handouts, and more. The top of this page provides support for the use of the most used science databases.

All Science Databases & Google

Biology, Medicine, Kinesiology & Public Health Databases

  • PubMed User Guide and FAQs: This online guide provides detailed directions for numerous search methods and database functions.
  • PubMed Advanced Learning Tools: This webpage includes a variety of educational tools including courses, workshops, webinars, training materials and documentation.

Chemistry & Biochemistry Databases

EBSCOhost Platform Databases

EBSCOhost is a platform that allows searching of subject specific databases and any combination of these databases at once. The major difference is that the platform has certain options for building a search while the individual databases have similar or additional search filter criteria options. Review the subject specific research guide database lists to determine what tutorials are the most helpful.

Physics, Math & Statistics

  • arXiv has great help documents covering general information, searching and browsing, accounts, and more
  • MathSciNet via EBSCOhost (see support information on EBSCOHost Platform above.