Special Collections and Archives holds several collections related to Julia Morgan work that when combined document Morgan's significant career. Many of Morgan's projects have materials in several collections, so it is recommended to search across all collections to find all relevant documents.

The collections have "finding aids" or guides that are searchable through the Online Archive of California. You can search across all our finding aids in OAC at the link, using the search box on the lefthand sidebar.

The archives collections were organized by archivists. Materials are organized by type of record and format: architectural drawings, project records (correspondence, project specifications, etc.), photographs. Not all projects have all types of records.

Projects are identified with the following information, when known:

• Client Name
• project type
• job #
• city, state
• year of project (approximate)

Items stored in Flat Files (FF), are usually architectural drawings and oversized items that cannot fit in a box. Items stored on Tubes are usually oversized drawings that are three feet or longer, rolled on tubes for safe storage.

A flat file folder may contain between 1 to 15 items. A box folder may contain between 1 to 30 items. A tube can contain 1 to 3 items.

Image captions: Left image, Laura opens a flat file folder with architectural drawings. Right image, Michele looks at an architectural drawing rolled on a tube.

The Julia Morgan Papers (MS010) are the personal and professional records of Julia Morgan, donated by Morgan’s heir in 1980. The National Board of the YWCA; Earl and Wright, Consulting Engineers; Mr. and Mrs. Randolph Hearst Jr.; and other donors who which to remain anonymous have made significant additional donations to the collection.

The Sara Holmes Boutelle Papers (MS141) contain the papers of architectural historian Sara Holmes Boutelle, including extensive correspondence, research notes, photographs, interview notes, book drafts, articles, book reviews, presentation notes, and newspaper clippings, primarily relating to California architect Julia Morgan, women in American architecture, and historic preservation in the Bay Area, donated by her heirs in 2000.

Original Julia Morgan materials found in Boutelle’s papers have been processed separately as the Julia Morgan–Sara Holmes Boutelle Collection (MS027).

Julia Morgan–Walter T. Steilberg Collection (MS144): Collection of architect and engineer Walter T. Steilberg, who worked for Julia Morgan in the 1920s and 1930s, including vintage photographic prints of Morgan projects and Steilberg’s published and unpublished recollections of Morgan and her practice.

Saratoga Foothill Club Julia Morgan Blueprints (MS178): Blueprints and specifications of masonry, millwork, carpentry, plumbing, and electrical work, for the “Saratoga Foothill Club House,” July 1915.

Edward G. Trinkkeller Papers (MS097): Collection of family papers, office records, and photographs, including ironwork for William Randolph Hearst at his San Simeon estate where Trinkkeller collaborated with architect Julia Morgan; correspondence and photographs within the collection document their work together.

Hearst San Simeon State Historical Monument Oral History Project: Over 100 interviews conducted by Hearst Castle staff, with castle employees, guests, and other individuals associated with San Simeon. Searchable via the library’s catalog. Cal Poly can provide physical on-site access to oral history transcripts.

Hayes Perkins San Simeon Diaries (MS051): Five volumes of typescript diary entitled Here and There: The Diary of Hayes Perkins. Perkins worked for Hearst at both his San Simeon and Wyntoon estates.

Hearst-Grand Canyon Collection (MS049): Photographs, photocopies, and microfiche of federal records relating to property on the south rim of the Grand Canyon once owned by William Randolph Hearst.

William Randolph Hearst and Emmett Reilly Correspondence (MS 055): Correspondence from William Randolph Hearst and Millicent Hearst to San Simeon chef Emmett Reilly.

Because there are so many Morgan-related collections at Cal Poly, it is useful to structure your search. There are several different ways to do this.

You can go through this list of collections and search each of them one at a time.

You can browse the organization of the collection in the right-hand sidebar at each collection page. This gives you an idea of how the collection is organized. For example the Morgan Papers (MS010) is organized into:

1. Personal Papers (materials related to her personal life and her family)
2. Professional Papers (materials related to the architecture profession)
3. Office Records (records created in her architectural office)
4. Project records subdivided into:
   1. project records (correspondence, specifications, and other documentation)
   2. photographs (before, during and/or after construction)
   3. architectural drawings
5. Hearst's Hearst Castle/San Simeon files are separated into their own series with sub organization
6. Other Hearst projects
7. and the list goes on.