Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Kennedy Library Fall, 2021 Updates and Resources

Updates

  Updates

Kennedy Library Fall 2021 Hours

  • Beginning September 20th, the library's hours of operation will be Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. - 9 p.m., closed on the weekends. Learn more at https://lib.calpoly.edu/.
  • Special Collections and Archives is open by appointment, Tuesdays and Thursdays (Learn more and schedule your appointment).
  • The Hub24 space on the first floor of the library will remain open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for student use.
  • Per Cal Poly's requirement, all students, employees and visitors, regardless of their vaccination status, must wear a face covering in all indoor spaces of Kennedy Library (Bldg. 35), including group study rooms.

Honor Course Reserves in Room 111/Hub24

  • While the library is unable to circulate physical course reserves, students have access to a selection of "Honor Reserves" located in Room 111 in the Hub24 section of the library. The Honor Reserves collection consists of donated materials received through the Student Library Advisory Council-initiated Textbook GIVEback program. The textbooks can be used in the library and returned to the cart, and there is a suggestion box to let the library know of additional items students would like to see on reserve.

Off Campus Delivery for Fall, 2021

  • Off-Campus Delivery available to current students, staff, faculty and emeritus only: Allow 4-6 weeks for requests to be processed and delivered. Items will be shipped via UPS to the address entered when requested. You will receive an email when your item has been shipped. Continental US and Alaska street addresses only. Our apologies, we cannot deliver to Hawaii or international locations. Items can be returned to any CSU campus book drop or shipped using the prepaid UPS return label included in your shipment.

Campus Updates

   Get Online Help 24/7

Use 24/7 live chat to reach us anytime and from any place! 

24/7 Live Chat Help

   Access Library Resources From Home or Anywhere

Cal Poly students, faculty and staff can easily access our databases and other electronic resources from off-campus. Sign in to My Account using your Cal Poly User ID and password (the same ID and password you use to log into my.calpoly.edu portal.)

For more information, see Off-Campus Access.

Students in need of technology should go to the ITS Tech Rentals page or call 805-756-7000.
Need assistance with technology? Contact the ITS Service Desk at 805-756-7000.

Off-Campus Access   Contact ITS

    Online Research Tools, Databases, and E-Books

Kennedy Library has access to digital materials - articles, books, data, and streaming media. Be sure to log into your mycalpoly portal to get full access to subscribed resources. Librarians have also created subject, course, and topic guides to help you navigate through the research process. Use OneSearch to find e-books, journal articles, streaming audio or video, and other online resources. We have hundreds of databases that provide access to full-text articles, videos, and more!

Research Guides  

OneSearch   

Online Databases   COVID-19 Limited-Time Access Resource List

Special Collections and Archives

E-Books

Kennedy Library provides access to more than 600,000 e-books in all disciplines. All are discoverable in OneSearch.
Not all e-books are created equal. Some e-books, for example, can only be viewed by 3 users at a time, but the majority of e-books have minimal restrictions. The E-Books Guide below describes how to identify e-books to which we have access, and to see the terms of use for that item.

E-Books Guide   

Streaming Video

The library subscribes to several streaming video databases, and users can view streaming content from these databases when they are logged into the Cal Poly portal.

Docuseek

Academic Video Online

BBC Shakespeare Plays

Kanopy

Commercial or ad-supported streaming services

If instructors can't find the video they need in one of the library resources above, they can search for additional streaming options at JustWatch.com and Reelgood.com.  This will help determine if the video content is site exclusive (e.g. Netflix, PrimeVideo, or HBO), or if it is available on an ad-supported or low-cost rental platform (e.g. Vudu, Google Play or YouTube).  NOTE:  The library cannot pay rental costs on commercial services. Ad-supported and free platforms vary in quality and reliability--always preview the entire film yourself before linking it to your students.

JustWatch

Reelgood

   Online Library Tutorials for Students

We have online tutorials, videos, and guides that provide students with instruction on library research strategies and tools.

Research 101 Tutorials and Videos 

Finding Data Tutorial 

Research and Course Guides 

  Course Reserves

In Fall 2021 the library is only offering eBooks and other electronic materials for course reserves. We will be happy to help you make electronic course materials available for students using eMaterials in our collections, ordering eBooks and, in some cases, digitizing print materials for course reserves.

Requesting Reserves for Faculty

To request that the library purchase an e-book or other digital resource for your course, please check OneSearch to see if the library already owns the item. If you can find a library copy in OneSearch, please fill out a Course Reserves request form, and include a OneSearch permalink to the item in the “Special Instructions” box.

If you cannot find the item you are looking for in OneSearch, please submit an E-Reserves Purchase Request Form.

If you’d like to inquire about digitizing course materials to use for Fall 2021, please email your request to Caleb Nichols, Course Reserves Coordinator at reserves@calpoly.edu. Make sure to include as much detail about your request as possible including course code, number of sections, title, and edition of the book, author, etc. we will reply to your request as soon as we are able to.

Accessing Course Reserves and Materials

You can search for course reserves and materials by course number (ie COMS 101) or instructor name
 

Search Course Reserves

 

   Don't See Online Access or Full Text?  Interlibrary loan options may be available

To get full access to all your options, be sure to log into your Cal Poly portal and OneSearch. When you find an item listed that does not have full text, click on Get It at Cal Poly. This will lead you to options for articles, book chapters, and other materials from CSU+ and other libraries, and the forms will prefill for you. If none of this works, and you have a complete citation for an item, fill out a request form at ILL, found in the link below.

Submit a request online:

Interlibrary Loan 

Or you can email: ils@calpoly.edu