Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Kennedy Library COVID-19 Updates and Resources

Updates

  Updates

Contactless Book Checkout and Pickup

  • Kennedy Library-owned and CSU+ materials (excluding physical course reserves) are available through contactless checkout. Items will be available for pickup on Mondays and Wednesdays from 11 a.m. – 1 p.m., and Tuesdays from 4 p.m. – 6 p.m. Please see below for more information and to request materials.

Building

  • Kennedy Library is closed to the public, and it is not expected to open for fall quarter at this time. For technology assistance, please contact the ITS Service Desk at 805-756-7000. For access to technology, please go to the ITS Tech Rentals page or call 805-756-7000.

Computer Lab Access

Campus Updates

   Get Online Help 24/7

Use 24/7 live chat to reach us anytime and from any place! 

24/7 Live Chat Help

   Checking Out Library Materials

Contactless Checkout and Pickup

Kennedy Library and CSU+ are now loaning books and other physical materials (excluding Course Reserves) on a limited basis.

Available on Mondays and Wednesdays from 11 a.m. – 1 p.m., and Tuesdays from 4 p.m. – 6 p.m. 

  1. Request books on OneSearch using your Cal Poly account: https://onesearch.calpoly.edu  
  2. Receive an email that your items are ready to be picked up. 
  3. Bring your Cal Poly ID/Library Card to the Kennedy Library front entrance on the days/hours listed above. 
  4. Call Library Circulation at 805-756-5760 to notify us of your arrival and to provide your library card information. 
  5. Staff will place your items outside the door. 

Books and other physical materials checked out to you will be renewed automatically. There will be no late fees or fines for any overdue items at this time. You may return books and other physical materials (including CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan) to the book drops located in front of the library or in parking lot H10.

  • Please contact Access Services at circulation@calpoly.edu with any questions about your checked out items.
  • Please contact Interlibrary Services at ils@calpoly.edu with any questions about CSU+ or Interlibrary Loan.

To review your checked out library materials:

Log In to your Library Account

   Access Library Resources From Home or Anywhere

Cal Poly students, faculty and staff can easily access our databases and other electronic resources from off-campus. Sign in to My Account using your Cal Poly User ID and password (the same ID and password you use to log into my.calpoly.edu portal.)

For more information, see Off-Campus Access.

Tech checkout in Hub24 is closed. Students in need of technology should go to the ITS Tech Rentals page or call 805-756-7000.
Need assistance with technology? Contact the ITS Service Desk at 805-756-7000.

Off-Campus Access   Contact ITS

    Online Research Tools, Databases, and E-Books

Kennedy Library has access to digital materials - articles, books, data, and streaming media. Be sure to log into your mycalpoly portal to get full access to subscribed resources. Librarians have also created subject, course, and topic guides to help you navigate through the research process. Use OneSearch to find e-books, journal articles, streaming audio or video, and other online resources. We have hundreds of databases that provide access to full-text articles, videos, and more!

Research Guides  

OneSearch   

Online Databases   

COVID-19 Limited-Time Access Resource List

Special Collections and Archives

E-Books

Kennedy Library provides access to more than 600,000 e-books in all disciplines. All are discoverable in OneSearch.
Not all e-books are created equal. Some e-books, for example, can only be viewed by 3 users at a time, but the majority of e-books have minimal restrictions. The E-Books Guide below describes how to identify e-books to which we have access, and to see the terms of use for that item.

E-Books Guide   

Streaming Video

The library subscribes to several streaming video databases, and users can view streaming content from these databases when they are logged into the Cal Poly portal.

Docuseek

Academic Video Online

Films on Demand Feature Films for Education

BBC Shakespeare Plays

Kanopy

Commercial or ad-supported streaming services

If instructors can't find the video they need in one of the library resources above, they can search for additional streaming options at JustWatch.com and Reelgood.com.  This will help determine if the video content is site exclusive (e.g. Netflix, PrimeVideo, or HBO), or if it is available on an ad-supported or low-cost rental platform (e.g. Vudu, Google Play or YouTube).  NOTE:  The library cannot pay rental costs on commercial services. Ad-supported and free platforms vary in quality and reliability--always preview the entire film yourself before linking it to your students.

JustWatch

Reelgood

   Online Library Tutorials for Students

We have online tutorials, videos, and guides that provide students with instruction on library research strategies and tools.

Research 101 Tutorials and Videos 

Finding Data Tutorial 

Research and Course Guides 

  Course Reserves

Kennedy Library is prepared to support you in the case that you may be learning from a distance. Course Reserves is working hard to link ebooks and other digital content the library already owns to existing courses in the Course Reserves Search. To request library-owned digital materials be placed on reserve, please submit a Reserves Request Form.  Email questions to reserves@calpoly.edu, or contact Caleb Nichols, Course Reserves Coodinator, at 805-756-6040. 

Accessing Course Reserves and Materials

You can search for course reserves and materials by course number (ie COMS 101) or instructor name
 

Search Course Reserves

Requesting Reserves for Faculty

  • The Library can assist you in providing online materials to your students in multiple forms.
    • If you'd like to request an ebook or other digital item that the library owns be placed on reserve, please submit a reserves request.  Requesting items early with help guarantee their availability for students at the beginning of the quarter.
    • If you'd like to request that the library purchase an ebook or other digital resource for reserves, please submit a reserves request, and add "request to purchase" in the "special instructions" box.  Please also include number of sections and seats.

Submit Course Reserves  

   Don't See Online Access or Full Text?  Interlibrary loan options may be available

To get full access to all your options, be sure to log into your Cal Poly portal and OneSearch. When you find an item listed that does not have full text, click on Get It at Cal Poly. This will lead you to options for articles, book chapters, and other materials from CSU+ and other libraries, and the forms will prefill for you. If none of this works, and you have a complete citation for an item, fill out a request form at ILL, found in the link below.

Submit a request online:

Interlibrary Loan 

Or you can email: ils@calpoly.edu