SS 423 - Soil & Water Chemistry
Recommended Resources
Course Readings
Soils and Geomorphology by
Soils and Geomorphology, now in its third edition, remains popular among soil scientists, geomorphologists, geologists, geographers, and archaeologists. While retaining the useful "factors of soil formation format," it has been extensively revised, incorporating a considerable amount of new research and offering a greater number of topics and examples -- particularly in the chapters "Weathering and Soil Development with Time" and "Topography: Soil Relations with Time in Different Climatic Settings." Greater emphasis is placed on the role of dust in pedogenesis, and new data are included on tropical soil development, global soil-loess relations, neotectonics, and reduction processes. The text discusses field applications such as the use of soils in recognizing climate change, estimating the age of geological deposits, and dealing with environmental problems such as acid rain. New "how-to" appendices on soil descriptions and calculating the profile development index are also included. Soils and Geomorphology is an ideal text for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in courses on pedology, soil science, Quaternary geology, archeology, and sedimentary petrology.
Call Number: S592.2 .B57 1999ISBN: 0195078861Publication Date: 1999-02-25
Soil Chemistry by
<b>Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of the basics of soil chemistry</b> <p>Although only a meter in depth over the earth′s surface, soil is key to sustaining life-affecting air and water quality, the growth of plants and crops, and the health of the entire planet. The complex interplay among organic and inorganic solids, air, water, microorganisms, and plant roots in soil is the subject of Soil <b><i>Chemistry</i></b>, a reference pivotal to understanding soil processes and problems.</p> <p>Thoroughly reorganized for ease of use, this updated Third Edition of <b><i>Soil Chemistry</i></b> summarizes the important research and fundamental knowledge in the field in a single, readily usable text, including:</p> <ul> <li>Soil-ion interactions</li> <li>Biogeological cycles and pollution</li> <li>Water and soil solutions</li> <li>Oxidation and reduction</li> <li>Inorganic solid phase and organic matter in soil</li> <li>Weathering and soil development</li> <li>Cation retention (exchange)</li> <li>Anion and molecular retention</li> <li>Acid and salt-affected soils</li> </ul> <p>New to the Third Edition is an enhanced emphasis on soil solution chemistry and expanded coverage of phosphate chemistry and the chemical principles of the aqueous phase. At the same time, the book has retained the clear examination of the fundamentals of the science of soil that has distinguished earlier editions. Complete with SI units and end-of-chapter study questions, Soil Chemistry is an excellent introductory resource for students studying this crucial topic.</p>
Call Number: S592.5 .B63 2001ISBN: 0471363391Publication Date: 2001-06-13
Environmental Soil and Water Chemistry by
An excellent knowledge base in soil and water chemistry -the ideal basic text for students of the environmental sciences<br /> In Environmental Soil and Water Chemistry, leading soil and water authority V. P. Evangelou presents a complete overview of the principles and applications of soil science, addressing the subject by viewing the interactions between soil and water as a basis for understanding the nature, extent, and treatment of polluted soil and water. The text opens with a discussion of principles-the fundamental tenets of chemistry needed to understand soil and water quality and treatment of polluted resources-and continues with a look at applications for the control and treatment of soil and water. Suitable for advanced undergraduates and beginning graduate students, this extensive, timely volume covers:<br /> ∗ Water chemistry and mineral solubility; soil minerals and surface chemical properties and their behavior; and electrochemistry and kinetics<br /> ∗ The control of agricultural chemical pollution and land disturbance pollution; colloids and transport processes in soils; and technologies for measuring quality and executing treatment<br /> ∗ Specific chemical contaminants and the procedures for their neutralization<br /> In a world where chemical pollutants pose a grave threat to the earth′s natural resources, Environmental Soil and Water Chemistry offers students both an excellent textbook and a handy reference on the wide spectrum of environmental problems they will confront outside the classroom.
Call Number: TD878 .E93 1998ISBN: 0471165158Publication Date: 1998-10-12
Methods of Soil Analysis by
The best single reference for both the theory and practice of soil physical measurements, Methods, Part 4 adopts a more hierarchical approach to allow readers to easily find their specific topic or measurement of interest. As such it is divided into eight main chapters on soil sampling and statistics, the solid, solution, and gas phases, soil heat, solute transport, multi-fluid flow, and erosion. More than 100 world experts contribute detailed sections.
Call Number: S593 .M48ISBN: 9780891188254Publication Date: 1986-01-01
Environmental Chemistry of Soils by
This introduction to modern soil chemistry describes chemical processes in soils in terms of established principles of inorganic, organic, and physical chemistry. It aims for a modern conceptual approach rather than empirical description, including the most recently developed explanations for the more controversial topics. The text provides an understanding of the structure of the solid mineral and organic materials from which soils are formed. With the help of diagrams and graphs, it explains such important processes as cation exchange, chemisorption and physical adsorption of organic and inorganic ions and molecules, soil acidification and weathering, oxidation-reduction reactions, and development of soil alkalinity and clay swelling properties. Environmental as well as agricultural topics are covered, illustrated with case studies and individual chapters on agricultural chemicals and pollutants such as heavy metals and toxic organic chemicals. This book defines and addresses the challenge of the future -- to protect the soil ecosystem from the pollutants of an industrial society.
Call Number: S592.5 .M39 1994ISBN: 0195070119Publication Date: 1994-03-17
Article: Effect of Different Organic Ligands on Cadmium Sorption by and Extractability from Soils - R. Naidu and R. D. HarterCall Number: S590 (INTERNET)Soil Science Society of America Journal
Vol. 62 No. 3, p. 644-650
AUTHENTICATION is REQUIRED
Soils and Environmental Quality by
See what's new in the Second Edition: Case studies - most chapters include case studies that present real-life situations in which the problem is presented along with possible causes and solutions Problem sets - each chapter contains problem sets that help students learn how to apply concepts and improve problem solving skills Discussion of hydrologic cycle - additional definitions and example calculations, and a more detailed description of precipitation Discussion of the atmosphere - information on characterizing parameters such as wind direction and velocity, temperature, and relative humidity Reorganization - soil and atmosphere addresses in separate chapter, a new chapter devoted to remediation of contaminated soils and groundwater
Call Number: TD878 .P54 2000ISBN: 0849300223Publication Date: 2000-03-01
Soil Physical Chemistry by
Soil Physical Chemistry, Second Edition takes up where the last edition left off. With comprehensive and contemporary discussions on equilibrium and kinetic aspects of major soil chemical process and reactions this excellent text/reference presents new chapters on precipitation/dissolution, modeling of adsorption reactions at the mineral/water interface, and the chemistry of humic substances. An emphasis is placed on understanding soil chemical reactions from a microscopic point of view and rigorous theoretical developments such as the use of modern in situ surface chemical probes such as x-ray adsorption fine structure (XAFS), Fournier transform infrared (FTIR) spectroscopies, and scanning probe microscopies (SPM) are discussed.
Call Number: S592.53 .S65 1999ISBN: 0873718836Publication Date: 1998-07-07
Environmental Soil Chemistry by
This volume applies fundamental principles of soil chemistry to important environmental reactions between soils and other natural materials and heavy metals, pesticides, industrial contaminants, acid rain and salts. It is aimed at undergraduates, beginning graduate students and professionals in the areas of soil science, environmental sciences and engineering. Chapters cover background information useful to students new to the discipline, including the chemistry of inorganic and organic soil components, soil acidity and salinity, and ion exchange and redox phenomena. The text also discusses sorption/desorption, oxidation-reduction of metals and organic chemicals, rates of pollutant reactions as well as technologies for remediating contaminated soils. Supplementary reading lists, sample problems, tables and figures are also included.
Call Number: S592.5 .S652 1995ISBN: 0126564450Publication Date: 1995-10-19
The Mineralogy, Chemistry, and Physics of Tropical Soils with Variable Charge Clays by Call Number: S592.367 .U37ISBN: 0891584846Publication Date: 1981-03-16
Useful Websites
- Drinking Water ContaminantsFrom the US EPA
- Ecological Soil Screening Levels (Eco-SSL)From the US EPA
Chemistry Tools
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowReaxys provides chemical properties and preparations for inorganic and organic compounds. It is searchable in multiple ways, including chemical structure, formula, physical property, and reaction. This is a combination of retired databases Beilstein (organic reactions, spectra, properties, etc.), Gmelin (inorganic) and Chemistry Patent Database. This database includes a chemical drawing program.
Search for Articles
- AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAGRICOLA is a comprehensive index to journal articles, book chapters, theses and more in the field of agriculture. Disciplines covered include food & human nutrition, agricultural engineering & technology, earth & environmental sciences.
- CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowCAB Abstracts provides research information on agriculture and related applied life sciences, including Agriculture, Animal Health, Forestry, Human Health and Nutrition, and Natural Resources Management. Global Health from CABI is the definitive international public health database.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science (Core Collection) provides a single search across Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Additional Web of Science databases are easily accessible.
- GeoRef (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive geoscience database covers topics in economic geology, environmental and engineering geology, geophysics, hydrology, paleontology, petrology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy. Indexed content includes journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses.
The geology of North America is covered from 1666 to the present, and global coverage dates back to 1933. Access also includes GeoRef In Process.
Citing Your Sources
- American Society of Agronomy Style GuideContains information on how to prepare manuscripts for publication in ASA journals and publications.
- Information about ReferencesStarting on Pg. 11 of this document.