Research 101
Foundational Learning and Engagement Librarian
Why is citing important?
Watch this video for a summary of citations in academic writing. By NCSU Libraries. CC BY NC SA 3.0.
Additional viewing options: Press "play" on the video and turn on closed captions with the "CC" button.
To avoid plagiarism you must give credit whenever you:
- Use another person's words, ideas, opinions, or theories
- Present facts, statistics, graphs, and drawings that are not common knowledge
- Quote someone's written or spoken words
- Paraphrase someone's written or spoken words
Whether your information sources comes from the Internet or from print materials, it is important that you record the information in your papers accurately and follow the citation style that is specified by your professor.
- Academic Dishonesty PolicyThis Cal Poly document includes a definition of plagiarism and outlines the consequences of cheating.
Popular Citation Styles
APA Style
Established by the American Psychological Association. This style is standard for multiple disciplines including many in the Social Sciences. The official APA style site provides robust citation examples and support.
- APA Style Reference ExamplesThe official APA site has perfect examples in APA style, based on the 2019, 8th edition.
- Official APA SiteThis online site provides official guidance for APA grammar, stylistics, and clearly describes how to format in-text citations.
- APA: How to Cite ChatGPTOfficial guidance from APA on citing ChatGPT text.
- APA OWL Purdue (online guide)This guide, curated by librarians at Purdue University, provides detailed guidance for APA style.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01This provides exhaustive documentation for APA stylistics, grammar and citations. A print copy is available for short-term checkout from Permanent Reserves in the Crandall Service Point.
MLA Style
Citation style established by the Modern Language Association.
- How to Cite Generative AI in MLAOfficial guidance from MLA on citing ChatGPT and other generative AI content.
MLA Handbook by Call Number: Permanent Reserves LB2369 .G53 2016 (Ref)ISBN: 9781603295628Publication Date: 2021-05-20The ninth edition builds on the MLA's approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date. It allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, and more. A print copy is available on short-term checkout on Permanent Reserves in the Crandall service point.
Other Styles
CHICAGO, TURABIAN and CSE/CBE, HARVARD, IEEE
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Call Number: Permanent Reserves LB2369 .T8 2013ISBN: 9780226494425Publication Date: 2018-04-16Turabian provides a more student-friendly version of Chicago style, and this text provides comprehensive guidance. A print copy is available on Permanent Reserves in the Crandall service point for short-term checkout.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by Call Number: Permanent Reserves Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 022628705XPublication Date: 2017-09-05This exhaustive manual covers all aspects of The Chicago Manual of style. A print copy is available for short-term checkout on Permanent Reserves in the Crandall service point.
- How to Cite Generative AI in ChicagoOfficial guidance from Chicago Manual of Style site on how to cite Generative AI.
CSE/CBE refers to the citation format established by the Council of Biology Editors. CBE is the format preferred by writers in Biology, Geology, Chemistry, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physics.
Scientific Style and Format by Call Number: T11 .S386 2006ISBN: 097796650XPublication Date: 2006-04-01Scientific Style and Format is a recognized, authoritative reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields.
- Harvard StyleMendeley provides an online guide to support creation of references according to Harvard Style.