Civil & Environmental Engineering
This guide is for students, faculty, and researchers in Civil Engineering and Environmental Engineering.
Engineering Librarian
Sarah Lester
she/her/hers
Contact:
Robert E. Kennedy Library Room 216F
Subjects: Aerospace Engineering, BioMedical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Electrical Engineering, Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering, Materials Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Standards
About this guide
This guide provides starting points for researchers in the Civil & Environmental Engineering degree programs at Cal Poly.
For research help, please contact Sarah Lester, Engineering Librarian or use the library's 24/7 chat help.
Civil & Environmental Engineering Databases
- AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAGRICOLA is a comprehensive index to journal articles, book chapters, theses and more in the field of agriculture. Disciplines covered include food & human nutrition, agricultural engineering & technology, earth & environmental sciences.
- ASCE Library This link opens in a new windowThe American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Library contains ASCE journals, conference proceedings, e-books and standards.
- ASHRAE Publications This link opens in a new windowASHRAE publications cover heating, ventilating, air conditioning and refrigerating, including a focus on building systems, energy efficiency, and indoor air quality.
Cal Poly users may access ASHRAE Handbooks, Journal, Transactions, Standards and Guidelines. - Building Green This link opens in a new windowDatabase to help building-industry professionals design and build construction projects that minimize ecological impact and maximize economic performance. Includes access to Environmental building news articles, lists for GreenSpec products and specification guidelines, and detailed project case studies of high-performance buildings.
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new windowEarthquake Engineering Abstracts provides comprehensive, authoritative coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation.
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts is part of Materials Science & Engineering Database. By default, your search will be limited to Earthquake Engineering Abstracts content only. Deselect the checkbox to expand your search and get more results. - GeoRef (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive geoscience database covers topics in economic geology, environmental and engineering geology, geophysics, hydrology, paleontology, petrology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- USGS National Geologic Map Database This link opens in a new windowSearchable catalog providing access to maps and other spatially referenced data for geology, geophysics, marine geology, earth resources, hazards, geochemistry, geochronology, and paleontology. Includes links to other sources of topographic and related maps, other earth science databases, and additional Web resources related to geology.
Web resources
- Transportation Research Board Publications IndexThe TRB Publications Index contains more than 76,000 papers, articles, and reports published by the Transportation Research Board, Highway Research Board, Strategic Highway Research Program, or the Marine Board from 1922 to date.
Other sources for engineering research
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowCompendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for Find It links to work. Ad blocking software may also block some functionality. - IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new windowThe IEEE/IET Electronic Library provides access to full-text documents from publications in electrical engineering, computer science, telecommunications, electronics and related disciplines, including journals, ebooks, standards, and conference proceedings from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), John Wiley & Sons, and MIT Press.
- Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowInspec® is a comprehensive index to global literature in electronics, computer science, physics, electrical, control, production and mechanical engineering. Includes INSPEC Thesaurus, Classification Codes and other specialized search aids.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science (Core Collection) provides a single search across Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Additional Web of Science databases are easily accessible.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar allows you to simultaneously search scholarly content across many disciplines, databases, and information sources. Results can include books, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
Tips on using Google Scholar are available here.
Handbooks
The following handbooks are available from the library, click on the title for the shelving location
Standards
The library provides access to a number of standards in digital format. The following databases provide access to those subscriptions. If you need help locating a standard, please contact your Engineering Librarian.
- ASCE Library This link opens in a new window The American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Library contains ASCE journals, conference proceedings, e-books and standards.
- ASTM Standards & Digital Library This link opens in a new window The ASTM Digital Library includes the complete Book of Standards as well as access to every book, paper, and journal article published by ASTM. ASTM Digital Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines. Enabling 3rd party cookies may be required.
- ASHRAE Publications This link opens in a new window ASHRAE publications cover heating, ventilating, air conditioning and refrigerating, including a focus on building systems, energy efficiency, and indoor air quality. Cal Poly users may access ASHRAE Handbooks, Journal, Transactions, Standards and Guidelines.
In addition to our subscribed content, you can access the following standards for free online.
Digital Commons
Digital Commons is where you can find examples of past senior projects and theses.