Does the database focus on a particular subject or discipline? Is the database focused on current or historical images? Are the images taken by professionals or amateurs?
You will use different image sources for different types of images.
may be looking for high-quality images for use in your multimedia
design projects. Images found on the web tend to be low-resolution, for
speed of loading and ease of sharing. Try specialized image databases
for higher-quality images.
not assume that just because an image is available on the web, you're
permitted to use it in any way you wish. Creators of images
(photographers, artists, illustrators, etc.) own copyright just as
authors of books and articles do.
creators of images choose to make them available via what is known as a
"Creative Commons License". This means that the individual has chosen
to release some of their rights as the copyright holder to you, the
user. They may specify, for example, that you may use the image for
non-profit purposes as long as you credit the source.
without a creative commons license, for students' purposes (course
projects) you are generally permitted to use images under a law known
as "fair use," meaning that you are using them for educational
purposes. However, there are a few rules of thumb for legal and ethical
use of images:
provide a caption for the image, and an entry in your bibliography —
you must cite an image just as you would cite a book or journal article
use more than 5 images by any one artist/photographer, and not more
than 10% or 15 images from any one published collective work
disseminate your work by placing it on the web, or by publishing it
(earning a profit from it), without first approaching the creators of
the images to obtain permission. You will need to be even more aware of
this when you become a practicing professionals, because your work will
no longer fall under "fair use" law.
From the University of Washington Libraries, The Cities and Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web.
Contains over 2.5 million images from PubMed Central's digital archive, it's searchable and a great tool when you're for images for presentations, etc.
Science.gov - Image Search
Science.gov now quickly finds science images, including animal and plant, weather and space, and earth and sun images and more. The information is free and no registration is required. Go to www.science.gov and select the Image Search link under Special Collections.
The National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) Library of Images from the Environment (LIFE), a collection of high-quality photographs, illustrations, and graphics covering a wide range of topics, including images of plants, animals, fungi, microorganisms, habitats, wildlife management, environmental topics, and biological study/fieldwork. The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Image eXchange (NIX), a search engine of NASA's multimedia collections, including images of space flight wind tunnel, solar system, aircraft, and education initiatives. The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Photo Library, a collection spanning centuries of time and much of the natural world from the center of the earth to the surface of the sun.
A searchable image database created by various faculty, staff and students of the CSU system. Contains over 50,000 historical images from a wide variety of fields, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.
Image Citation Examples (APA Format)
Here is an example of a caption and bibliography entry for an image retrieved from an online database (in this case, the Library of Congress American Memory Project)
Figure 1. Golden Gate Park, San Francisco (1903-1906?). Source: American Memory from the Library of Congress (Image owner: Western History/Genealogy Department, Denver Public Library), photo by Joseph Collier.
Bibliographic Citation Example:
Collier. J. (Photographer). (1903-1906?). [Golden Gate Park, San Francisco],
[Online Image]. Western History/Genealogy Department, Denver Public Library. Retrieved October 15, 2007 from The Library of
Congress' American Memory website.
An image from a website
Figure 2. Golden Gate Park Map, San Francisco (2001). Note: Copyright Lee W. Nelson, 2001-2007.
Bibliographic Citation Example: Nelson, L. (Artist). (2001). Golden Gate Park Map, [Online Image]. Retrieved October 15, 2007 from Lee Nelson iNeTours.com Internet Tours. http://www.inetours.com/Pages/ SFLndmrkVws/GGP_Map.html
An image from a website (artist known, no title or date)
Figure 3. Photograph of Golden Gate Park, San Francisco (n.d.). Note: Copyright Liam Quinn.
Bibliographic Citation Example: Quinn, L. (Photographer). (n.d.) [Photograph of Golden Gate Park, San Francisco], [Online Image]. Retrieved October 15, 2007, from Liam Quinn’s Home Page. http://htmlhelp.com/~liam/California/SanFrancisco/GoldenGatePark/
An image from a website (artist and date unknown)
Figure 4. The Conservatory of Flowers at Golden Gate Park, San Francisco (n.d.). Source: SFTravel.com.
Bibliographic Citation Example: Conservatory of Flowers – Golden Gate Park [Online Image]. (n.d.). Retrieved October 15, 2007, from SFTravel.com. http://www.sftravel.com/ggpark.html
An image from a book – give the image a caption, & cite the book in which the image appears
Caption Example: Figure 5. Golden Gate Park. Source: Harnik, p. 17 (2000).
Bibliographic Citation Example: Harnik, P. (2000). Inside city parks. Washington, DC: Urban Land Institute.
An image from a journal article – give the image a caption, & cite the article in which the image appears
Caption Example: Figure 6. Site plan of the De Young Museum, in San Francisco’s Golden Gate Park, showing formal gardens (scale approx 1:2500). Source: Gregory, p. 47 (2005).
Bibliographic Citation Example: Gregory, R. (2005). Full metal jacket: the de Young Museum may appear tough and impenetrable, but in reality exploring its interiors is a delight; just like a wall in the park. The Architectural Review, 218(1304), 46-61.
Citing Images - The Basics
Giving proper credit for images has two parts: a caption with the
image itself, and an entry in your bibliography. Where the image
appears, write a descriptive caption indicating the source of the
image. Then create an entry in your bibliography. While most citation styles do not
give a rigid format for citing images, you can construct informative
citations based on some or all of the following elements:
Artist's name (if known)
Title of the image (if known; if not, create a description & place in square brackets)
Institution where the photograph or original artwork is held (if applicable)
If taken from a book or journal: all the usual citation information – refer to the appropriate style guide
If taken from an online database: aatabase name, date of access, URL (if applicable)
If taken from the Internet: title of website (if it has no title, create a descriptive one and
place in square brackets), date of access, URL
on creating the best citation you can given the information you can
locate. The intent is not to frustrate you with intricate rules, but to
give you guidelines so that you can provide your reader with enough
information that they can track down the original image if they so