Art and Design & Art History
Bloomsbury Visual Arts
- Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture, and related fields.
Very Short Introduction Ebooks from Oxford
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowBrief ebooks written by experts across the board - on physics, art, communism, beat poetry - almost anything!
CLA Librarian
Brett Bodemer
Subjects: Anthropology, Art and Design, Art History, Asian Studies, Child Development, Communications, Country Information, English, Ethnic Studies, Feminism, Geography, Government Information, Graphic Communication, History, Interdisciplinary Studies, Journalism, Linguistics, Music, News, Performing Arts, Philosophy and Religious Studies, Political Science, Primary Sources, Psychology, Queer Studies, Science, Technology and Society, Social Sciences, Sociology and Social Work, Theater and Dance, Women's, Gender and Queer Studies, World Languages and Cultures
Purpose of this Guide and Research Help Options
This guide gives you great pointers on the best databases and resources for your field. Don't forget that you can find help on 24/7 LIVE CHAT at any time of day or night. You can also email the CLA librarian, Brett Bodemer, at bbodemer@calpoly.edu.
- Video: Top 5 Reasons to Use 24/7 Live ChatThis 120 second video explains how 5 minutes of chat can save you 15 minutes of agony!
Search Many Databases at Once
- EBSCOhost (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost (All Databases) provides a single search across all EBSCO databases. Much of this content is different than what appears in OneSearch, but of high value and easy to use for all disciplines.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse the library link and/or be logged into My Cal Poly Portal when you use Google Scholar so you can link out to full text in our databases via the Get it At Cal Poly button. (Sometimes the Get it at Cal Poly Button is hidden UNDER a result so click the two little arrows >> )
- ProQuest (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowProQuest (All Databases) provides a single search across all ProQuest databases.
- OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
- Using OneSearchThis guide gives you lots of tips and tricks for using OneSearch effectively.
- Video: The Four Flavors of Print Books Requests in OneSearch3 minute video explaining requests for physical items in order of how fast you can get to the item.
- Open LibrarySome books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.
- Open Library - Many Books Available Online (Renovation Edition #1)3 minute video showing how to check Open Library for possible immediate online access to books you see listed in OneSearch.
Search Ebrary, SpringerLink and Project Muse for ebooks
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and articles, with some current content and lots going way back.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and articles. To get books click Books on left column.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowBooks and Articles. To get books, after first keyword search, click BOOKS in right column.
If you know the article you want and want to find the full text
Google Scholar: Try the author's last name and a good chunk of the title in " " and then use the Find it At Cal Poly link, often found hidden beneath the "more" under the result. Be sure that you are logged into MyCalPoly Portal AND signed into OneSearch.
- Google Scholar******
If Google Scholar doesn't work, fill out a form at the ILL link below with all the required fields (and more if you have patience) and ILL will seek the item from another library.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowSearches here may lead you to encyclopedia articles with some mention of your topic or artwork.
Find Old Reviews of Art shows/Artists
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThrough Proquest Historical Newspapers you can search the New York Times and the Los Angeles Times, going way, way back to the nineteenth century!
Good Databases to Search One at a Time
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a full-text database of back issues for scholarly journals as well as eBooks, primarily in the social sciences and humanities. eBook content reflects current scholarship in most cases while journal content starts with volume one, but because JSTOR is an archival database, the most recent 3-5 years of journal issues are not available in JSTOR.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowLots of scholarly, interdisciplinary journals and ebooks.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMany full-text articles, some from core scholarly journals, but others from popular magazines in a wide variety of subject areas.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers across a breadth of disciplines.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowSearches many online encyclopedias and reference works at once.
Getty Bibliography of History of Art
The Getty Museum offers the online database, Bibliography of the History of Art, for free access. Formerly a subscribed resource, it is now freely available through their website.
- Bibliography of the History of Art / Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art This link opens in a new windowThe Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
More Books
- OneSearchUse relevant keywords then use filters on left. For immediately available electronic results, use the filter on the left: "Available Online at Kennedy" and then filter for ebooks. For print items, sign into OneSearch to see your request options. Delivery times for tangible items retrievable from campus storage will be faster than items requested from other libraries (ILL.)
- Video: The Four Flavors of Print Books Requests in OneSearch3 minute video explaining requests for physical items in order of how fast you can get to the item.
- Open LibrarySome books you identify in OneSearch may be available for free digital lending and reading online. This will be faster than requesting it. It only takes a moment to make an Internet Archive account and "borrow" these books. You can also search here for things not in OneSearch.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window100s of libraries in North America - and we share most print materials!