The FrameFinder App from the UCSB Maps and Imagery Library provides access to an extensive collection of scanned historical aerial photographs with coverage throughout California

Quickly view historical aerial photos from the USGS Earthe Explorer catalogue through this ESRI image viewer

Search, browse, and download datasets from the extensive catalog of USGS aerial and satellite imagery.

An interactive map and timelapse of satellite imagery, 1984 - 2020, depicting major land surface changes, across the globe.

Web map representing indigenous lands throughout the world. This map is created to foster conversation about the history of colonialism and Indigenous ways of knowing. Map data represent areas of territories, languages and treaties can be viewed online or accessed via API.

Access historical census data and GIS boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2012.

Social Explorer provides streamlined access to US Census datasets, with over 20,000 socio-economic indicators between 1790 and the present. Export tabular data or visualize data online. This is a campus subscription service

Collection of sites containing historical geospatial data for a variety of topics and regions

Detailed maps of streets, businesses, and other information created for fire insurance purposes ~1880-1920, subscription provides access to California cities.

View and download USGS historic topo quads for areas throughout the US. Less detailed, but more comprehensive in extent than the Sanborn maps, USGS topo quads are generally available from 1890-present.

The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.

Search and download survey maps outlining federal land in the Public Land Survey System. These document transfer of land ownership from a sovereign (the U.S. Government) to a buyer.

Interactive map viewer for PLSS boundaries. This can be used to view boundary locations referenced in the BLM General Land Office database.

A historical map collection containing tens of thousands maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also included.

A compilation of many collections of historic maps, navigated through a map interface and linked for viewing online.

HyperCities is a curated set of past projects, demonstrating approaches to explore the historical layers of city spaces in an interactive, hypermedia environment.

Browse maps online from of one of the world’s premier map collections in terms of size, scope, unique holdings, diversity and intensity of use.

Access maps from the Harvard University map collection, available through ESRI ArcGIS Online.

The American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection currently contains over 700 maps, ranging from early maps of Asia to historical maps of Wisconsin and Milwaukee, and other American cities, states, and national parks. The digital collection is under continuing development.

The Digital Collections provides for the storage and dissemination of digital objects, including text, images, maps, audio, and video in their various digital manifestations and combinations.

Guidance on various historic online cartographic resources, i.e. rare maps and atlases, available at Stanford, nationally and worldwide.

The PCL Map Collection includes more than 250,000 maps for regions throughout the world.

Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, maps and more.

The California History Section's collection of maps exceeds 5,000 items. The collection features maps of individual cities and towns, as well as maps delineating overland trails and sea routes to California.

The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions.

Map interface to search and download historical survey maps within San Luis Obispo County

SLO County LandUseView site provides map and text search for parcel and address lookup for property within SLO County.

Finding aid for the historical building permit records within the City of San Luis Obispo. Select building permits for the City of San Luis Obispo, California for years 1906-1937 with yearly alphabetical indices for 1923 and 1928-1937. The permits are not a complete issue.

Los Angeles County listing of survey maps including parcel, tract, township plats, deed maps, design plans, and related land documents.